How To Become A Massage Therapist: The Definitive Guide
Do your friends go to you when they have a kink in their neck?
Do you enjoy relaxing people?
Are you always making sure that you stretch before exercise?
With the help of massage therapy, people are finding that life is much better limber.
As a Massage Therapist, you can learn how to manipulate your clients bodies to relieve aches and pains, as well as help with their posture and to promote health.
S To Becoming A Licensed Massage Therapist
How many people can truthfully say they love their career? Well, most Massage Therapists tend to say they do. The career boasts below-average stress levels and above-average flexibility, according to U.S. News Best Jobs Rankings. Massage Therapists can work from home, in salons, spas, high-end resorts, and even cruise ships.
If youre considering becoming a Massage Therapist but youre not sure where to start, read these five steps to get a better idea of what youll need to do.
How Much Does It Cost To Renew A Medical License In Florida
A renewal fee of $250 for each year that your license has been continued and renewed since the last otherwise regularly scheduled biennial renewal year and for each year that the renewed license is to be valid until the next regularly scheduled biennial renewal date.
How Much Does a Florida Medical License Cost?
Initial license fee: $205.00. NICA Fee: Exempt
How do I renew my medical license in Florida?
Go to www.flhealthsource.gov and click the Renew License button. Enter your personally identifiable information and then click the Sign In button. Confirm or update your MQA Services account email address, then click the Next button.
Don’t Miss: Compact Hammer Massager Percussion Massager 3000
State Laws Versus Local Rules
Mind you, we are talking about laws on the state level. However it is possible that in some of those no-licence states smaller jurisdictions, like counties or cities, have their own licensing laws on a local level.
So just because a state does not have a licensing requirement for massage therapists does not necessarily give you the right to practice massage everywhere in the state without some kind of licence. So find out about local laws, not just about state laws.
To sum it up:
- Certification means you are qualified to practice massage
- Licensing gives you the legal right to practice massage.
Certification is generally a prerequisite for licensing. In other words, you generally wont be able to get a massage licence without a certificate that proves that you have had training.
So in most cases you need both, the certificate and the licence.
How Do I Renew My Florida Massage Facility License
To renew your facility or massage therapy license, visit the Florida Board of Massage website. A special note for those employed by a massage business in Florida: If you are employed by a massage business in Florida, make sure the owner has a valid massage business license.
Do I need a license for a massage business in Florida?
Do I need a license to operate a massage business? Yes. Operation of a massage facility requires a license under 480.043, Florida Statutes.
How much does a massage facility license cost in Florida?
They may already have one, and if they do, it should be published. The cost of massage facility application, license and inspection fee is $255. Proof of property damage and personal injury liability insurance is required for an operating permit.
Recommended Reading: Couples Massage Wake Forest Nc
Licensing Requirements & Massage Therapy Certification
In most states, massage therapists must be licensed to practice and receive fees for massage and bodywork services. You must apply to your states board of massage therapy to meet this licensing requirement. Prerequisites for licensure as a massage therapist include at least 700 hours of massage school. Upon successfully completing Arizona Colleges massage therapy program, our graduates are eligible to pursue certification through the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy.
How To Become A Licensed Massage Therapist In 2022
Are you interested in learning how to become a licensed massage therapist? You are not alone. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics , the job outlook is expected to grow by 21 percent over the next ten years, a figure that far exceeds those predicted for other professions.
That growth is attributed mainly to a growing acceptance of holistic health practices. What was once considered a luxury service is increasingly incorporated into everyday wellness routines. An aging population has also helped increase demand for good masseurs.
Below, well look deeper into what it takes to become a licensed massage therapist.
Don’t Miss: Massage Places In Atlantic City
How Long Does It Take To Become A Certified Massage Therapist
Massage professionals must complete at least 500 hours of in-class instruction. The time it takes to satisfy these requirements depends on your course schedule and whether you are a full or part-time student. Massage therapy training programs can take as little as six months or up to 15 months to complete.
What Can I Do With A Certification In Massage Therapy
The majority of massage therapists are self-employed, but some work as employees in the healthcare industries such as chiropractorsâ offices, hospitals and fitness centers. Other locations for massage therapy include hotels and motels, spas, resorts, cruise ships and shopping malls. There are also many massage therapists who choose to provide services out of their own home or by traveling to their clientsâ homes.
Also Check: Lelo Sona Sonic Clitoral Massager
Enroll In Trade School For Training
Most U.S. states, including Illinois, require massage therapists to be licensed before practicing. The number of documented hours and other requirements vary by state, but your education should provide you with the knowledge and skills needed to take your states licensing exam.
The Midwest Technical Institute Massage Therapy Program provides the student the skills and hands-on clinical training needed to perform therapeutic massage utilizing a variety of techniques. Students will learn how to relieve clients soft tissue pains and connective tissue traumas, plus massaging for relaxation purposes.
Graduating students should be well-versed in wellness, nutrition, medical ethics, and trigger points of the body, and will have also studied lessons on therapy business management.
Pass The New York State Massage Exam
Like I previously mentioned, New York is one of the few remaining states to have its own state massage board exam, in lieu of using the MBLEx as an entry-level licensing exam. Taking the NYS exam is the last big hurdle for massage therapists before getting licensed.
Here is everything you need to know about taking the exam.
Keep Up With The Latest Trends In Massage
Whether youre just getting started in school or looking for courses to add to your skill set, staying on top of the latest massage techniques, philosophies, and changes in the industry is key to staying current and competitive in order to offer massage clients a full spectrum of services. These blogs, podcasts, newsfeeds, association journals, and social media feeds will help keep you in the know.
What Is The Typical Path To An Online Massage Therapy Certification
Students typically complete a massage therapy program teaching them the material needed to take a certification exam. This often includes in-person, hands-on training supervised by a licensed massage therapist instructor. These programs most often include topics such as physiology and kinesiology, as well as medical terminology, massage technique practical skills, and business-related courses. These programs may follow a specific course of study or be self-paced, allowing students to take courses as they desire.
Also Check: Massage Places In Tucson Arizona
The Future Of Massage Regulation In California
It appears California is going to keep this voluntary model for the time being.
Gov. Jerry Brown on Sept. 22, 2016, extended the Massage Therapy Act, including CAMTCs voluntary certification program, for four more years .
If you have any questions about becoming a Certified Massage Therapist in California, please let me know in the comments below. Thanks!
The Hardest Step Getting Started
Massage is a truly rewarding career It allows for independence, workplace flexibility, and the joy of helping others. Unfortunately, taking the leap can be daunting. Many aspiring Massage Therapists spend months or even years trying to decide if its the right fit for them.
Dont waitget the information you need to make an informed decision about your Massage Therapy career. Admissions Representatives at IBMC College are knowledgeable in all aspects of the program. They can even help you sit in on a class, take a campus tour, and meet instructors before making the final decision.
Also Check: What Does Erotic Massage Mean
Scandinavian Mobilization Therapy Certification
The Scandinavian Mobilization Therapy certification provides advanced training for manual therapists. This includes chiropractic, medical, osteopathic, naturopathic, physical, occupational and massage therapists. Scandinavian mobilization therapy provides restorative and corrective movement to joint structures and soft tissues that may have lost traditional function after experiencing an illness or injury. This certification involves multi-level training and exams.
How To Become A Certified Massage Therapist In California
Looking for information to obtain a massage license, or get certified, in California?
Legally working as a massage therapist in California is different than any other state. Whether you are a current massage therapist moving to California, or a resident looking for a massage program, sorting through regulations can be challenging and time-consuming.
I am going to cover the current regulations in California and break down the requirements into simple steps. Soon, you will know everything you need to do, or not do, in order to work as a massage professional in the state.
You May Like: Massage For Pregnancy Back Pain
Notice Of Intent To Review Rules
May 10, 2022
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation is reviewing the Massage Therapy program rules located at Title 16, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 117 for re-adoption, revision, or repeal. This rule review is required every four years.
The Notice of Intent to Review was published in the Texas Register on April 29, 2022 .
The Department will determine whether the reasons for adopting or readopting these rules continue to exist by answering the following questions for each rule:
- Is it obsolete?
- Does it reflect current legal and policy considerations?
- Is it in alignment with the current procedures of the Department?
Do You Need A Massage License In Florida
First, massage therapy in Florida is regulated by the Department of Health. Unless you are licensed by the Florida Department of Health, you may not provide massage services in the state of Florida.
Can you give massages in Florida without a license?
It is a criminal offense under Florida law to practice, attempt or offer any regulated healthcare profession, including massage therapy, without holding a valid license issued by the Department of Health.
What can I do without a massage license?
Practicing Massage Therapy Without a License Wyoming, Vermont, Minnesota, or Kansas are states that do not require a massage license. While these are the only states where you can be a massage therapist without a license, additional requirements may apply.
Don’t Miss: Full Body Massage Colorado Springs
Can You Run A Massage Business From Home In Florida
Yes. Anyone can have a massage operation license. However, if the owner, the designated owner of the facility or any person in the management of the facility has pleaded nolo contendere or has been convicted of any of the following offenses, the application for a license will be denied.
Can I massage in Florida without a license?
To practice massage in the state of Florida, you must be a licensed massage therapist. In order to operate a massage facility, it must be licensed. Massage therapy laws are found in Florida Statute Chapter 480.
Is massage therapy regulated in Florida?
Massage Facility Laws and Bylaws Massage therapy is highly regulated in Florida. Numerous laws and regulations protect patients and customers. The two main areas of law are: The Florida Massage Practice Act: Chapter 480 of the Florida Statutes.
Consider Opening Your Own Practice
Once youâre ready to start working, the first major fork in your career path will be whether to work with a larger, more established practice or branch out on your own.Both options have their pros and cons. Starting with an established clinic means youâll have a steady stream of clients, a steady income, and health insurance and other benefits. Especially if youâre just starting, it can be comforting to work under a more experienced therapist who can give you on-the-job tips to help you with the rest of your career.
However, in starting your own practice, you can be your own boss, setting your schedule, rates, and services. You can work out of your own home and build the career of your dreams. It may be a bit harder starting out, but you can say that youâve truly created something of your own.
You May Like: 90 Minute Deep Tissue Massage
Get A Business License
While this step is optional, youll need business licensure if you plan to work as a solo practitioner, which accounts for 67 percent of all practicing therapists, according to the American Massage Therapy Association. If youd like to work in a spa, healthcare setting or somewhere else as an employee, you can skip this step.
Getting a business license is relatively easy in the state of Colorado. You can register your business with the Colorado Secretary of States office by filing online.
Texas Massage Therapy Careers
Average yearly salary for massage therapy in Texas
Some massage therapists are able to earn a full time salary working only part time. While the practice of massage therapy is fulfilling, equally important is earning a living wage doing something you love. The annual mean salary for a massage therapist in Texas is $40,090 according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Salaries in the Lone Star State range from $17,500 to $67,520 before tips. Texas also ranks third in the nation for highest employment of massage therapists. A career in massage therapy promotes health and healthier choices in massage clients. Is it time for you to investigate a Texas massage therapy school?
Job opportunities for massage therapists in Texas include spas, salons, gyms, wellness and health practices of all kinds, country clubs, sports teams and events, hotels, resorts and more. Many massage therapists choose to open their own business and see clients in their home or in the therapist’s private office.
Also Check: Massage Therapy School Murfreesboro Tn
Take The Massage Therapy Licensing Exam
Multiple exams are accepted to receive a license. The exam in current use nationwide is the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination .
Registration for the exam can be completed via mail or online. The fee is $195. After registration is approved and payment is documented, students can schedule their examination. On test day, students will need to bring proper identification.
Exam results can be provided free of charge to one state licensing agency.
How To Choose The Best Online Massage Therapy Certification Programs
To select the best online massage therapy certification program, consider location, the type of education desired, and the format of the program. Some key factors to think about include:
- Learning method: Is the program fully online? That’s difficult to find, but many programs offer hybrid options enabling students to learn at least some at home.
- Type of content: What does the program teach? Some programs provide a comprehensive overview of massage therapy including technique application along with business skills, communication skills, and first aid mastery.
- Certification access and prep: Is certification a part of the program? Most often, programs teach material necessary to sit for and pass a state or national certification program, though not all do.
You May Like: Massage Places In Winston Salem Nc
Best For Specializations: The Professional Massage Academy
The Professional Massage Academy
Based in Minnesota, with online components
Some may need more training for state exams
The Professional Massage Academy offers an online massage therapy program with flexible online classes and some in-person learning. Those in Minnesota can sit for their state licensing exam after course completion. Some taking the program out-of-state may need more hands-on training locally to meet their state requirements.
It’s possible to take specialized massage therapy programs for one or two areas of focus in other courses and programs. Students have access to some specialization options included the program such as sports massage, advanced massage techniques, and specialized massage areas such as reflexology, medical massage, and deep tissue massage. This is taught through demonstration and practical application. Students also learn core topics such as kinesiology, medical terminology, and anatomy.
The Professional Massage Academy also offers personalization and flexibility by providing three learning plans with 15, 29, or 40 hours per week of study, allowing students to complete their education in as little as 15 weeks. At a cost of $7,500 and requiring 600 hours of completion, this program is a moderate choice across the board. There is also a $150 fee for online access to the program.
How We Can Help You Immigrate To Canada As A Massage Therapist
At Canadianvisa.Org, we only work with the best and most experienced Regulated Canadian Immigration Consultants to ensure that you get the future in Canada that you deserve. Whether you want to move, work, study in Canada, or sponsor a family member to join you in the Great North – we do it all.
Simply, fill in the form below to start an online questionnaire that our RCICs more about you, your goals, and how they can help you. They are ready to evaluate your eligibility, review all documentation, and submit a winning application on your behalf. Using an RCIC not only gives you the best possible chance of receiving a green light from the Canadian Government but will make the entire process simple and stress-free.
Start Your Journey
Don’t Miss: Daybreak By Weslo Massage Chair