How To Obtain A Professional License In Massage Therapy
This article was co-authored by . Marty Morales is a Professional Massage Therapist and the Founder and Owner of the Morales Method, a manual therapy and body conditioning business based in the San Francisco Bay Area and in Los Angeles, California. Marty has over 16 years of massage therapist experience and over 13 years of experience educating others on the best practices for massage therapy. Marty has over 10,000 hours of private practice logged and is a Certified Advanced Rolfer and Rolf Movement Practitioner, CMT. He has an MBA in Finance from Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles. This article has been viewed 40,729 times.
Becoming a licensed massage therapist can give you an opportunity to have a rewarding career where you will be able to help people relax and get rid of aches and pains on a daily basis. However, massage therapy is, in nearly all states, a heavily regulated field. Before taking steps to get licensed, decide if it is a career you really want to spend time pursuing. If you believe it is, you will then need to get educated, earn and licenses or certifications that your state may require, and find a job or open up your own business.
Massage Therapy Applications And Forms
Communication from the Division: The Division of Professions and Occupations’ primary communication is via email. Please be sure to include your current email address on your application to receive important information about your application status and process.
License Expiration BumpPeriod for New Applicants: All new applicants who are issued a license within 120 days of the upcoming renewal expiration date will be issued a license with the next expiration date.
License Renewal Information: All Massage Therapist licenses expire on December 31st of even-numbered years. There is a two month renewal grace period after the expiration date with a $15 late fee added. View your expiration date on your online account.
The Future Of Massage Regulation In California
It appears California is going to keep this voluntary model for the time being.
Gov. Jerry Brown on Sept. 22, 2016, extended the Massage Therapy Act, including CAMTCs voluntary certification program, for four more years .
If you have any questions about becoming a Certified Massage Therapist in California, please let me know in the comments below. Thanks!
Recommended Reading: Massage Places In Tyler Tx
Complete A Massage Therapy Program
Applicants are required to complete an approved course of at least 500 credit hours. The course must include specific areas of instruction, including 50 hours or more of an internship. While the majority of your coursework will focus on massage therapy, youll also take classes in anatomy, physiology, hydrotherapy, pathology and more.
Part : Why You Should Get Your Massage Therapy License
According to an IBIS report from 2017, massage therapy is a $16B market.
One of the best ways that you can differentiate yourself from the competition is to become a licensed massage therapist.
The benefits of this are numerous and self-evident, but here they are regardless:
- Become a Trusted Pro
- Grow Your Client Base
- Take Advantage of Special Business Opportunities
In our usual fashion, well be tackling these one by one. Lets start off with the trust aspect.
Read Also: Walk In Massage Louisville Ky
Important Notice Regarding Changes To The Law Affecting Massage Therapy
Effective July 1, 2019pursuant to IC 25-21.8-4-2, enrolled during the 2018 legislative session under House Enrolled Act 1130, an individual who applies to practice as a massage therapist in Indiana must have successfully completed a massage therapy school or program which requires at least 625 hours of supervised classroom and hands-on instruction on massage therapy.
Any application received before the new law goes into effect on July 1st, 2019, will be evaluated based on the certification requirements in statute at the time the application was submitted. Therefore, any application that is received before July 1st, 2019 will be reviewed to ensure the 500-hour requirement has been met regardless of when the actual certification may ultimately be issued.
After July 1st, 2019, the law will be in effect and any application that is received after this time will be required to provide proof of completion of 625-hours in accordance with statute.
For more information and a copy of House Enrolled Act 1130-2018, please visit the Indiana General Assembly website at www.iga.in.gov
Pursuant to IC 25-21.8-3, the Indiana State Board of Massage Therapy has begun the process of transitioning the practice of massage therapy from certification to required licensure.
Please note, an individual will not be required to hold a license to practice massage therapy in Indiana until 183 days after the effective date of additional rules to be promulgated and adopted by the Board for Massage Therapy.
Faq On Earning Your License In Massage Therapy
Some states require massage therapists to get individual liability insurance, even if their employer has coverage.
In order to keep a massage license current, professionals must complete a certain number of continuing education credits at schools approved by their state. Topics may include business, general massage, ethics, research, or marketing. Some continuing education classes are available online through the American Massage Therapy Association. In addition, the organization provides information on schools where students can take these courses in their local area.
Some massage therapists learn a specific type of massage in order to help them build their practice. There are several massage modalities to choose from, including the following:
- Deep tissue massage
Change in Employment : 10.80%
Currently Employed: 120
Change in Employment : 12.60%
There are several factors that influence what school massage students choose. Whether they are concerned about the length of the program, taking courses online versus on campus, or the amount of tuition, students need to compare programs before making a decision. The search tool below can help.
Also Check: Massage Therapist Upper West Side
Massage Therapist National Licensing Exam
To obtain a Texas massage therapist license, TDLR requires a passing score on the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards . Applicants for a Texas massage therapist license must submit their FSMTB exam results with their license application .
In order to be eligible for licensure, the applicant must meet one of the following conditions. All supporting documentation must be included with the application.
- Applicant first enrolled in a 300 or 300+ hour course prior to September 1, 2007, has completed the course, and passed an acceptable exam within the last two years.
- Applicant first enrolled in a 300 or 300+ hour course prior to September 1, 2007, has completed the course, and is currently licensed in another state in good standing. The applicant has also passed an acceptable national exam or another state’s licensing exam. The exam may have been taken more than two years ago.
- Applicant has completed a 500 or 500+ hour course and has passed an acceptable exam within the last two years.
- Applicant has completed a 500 or 500+ hour course and has taken and passed an acceptable exam within the last two years.
Individuals who currently hold a valid massage license in another state may have additional licensing options. Please see the Out of State Applicants page.
Criminal History Guidelines For Massage Therapy
DISCLAIMER: The Division uses this matrix simply as a starting point in making its licensing or disciplinary decisions, and therefore it is provided only for general informational and guidance purposes. Every applicant and licensee is unique, with individual circumstances that may involve aggravating or mitigating or other factors, including patterns of conduct that may affect any final decision. Please consult your attorney if you have questions.
Recommended Reading: Homedics Cordless Neck And Shoulder Massager
Preparing For Your Massage License
The full requirements for obtaining massage therapy licensing vary by state and may include:
- Passing the federal Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam
- State licensing exams
- A minimum number of training hours
- Payment of a fee
- Some states, like Florida, require board certification from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork .
Most states massage therapy licenses are only valid for a period of time, such as two years, after which you must renew the license in order to keep practicing in that state. In many states, you must also complete continuing education hours as a condition of license renewal.
Passing your examswhether the MBLEx or another exam in the massage therapy field, including some for board certificationcan be a source of anxiety for many prospective massage therapists. Fortunately, there are many resources available to help with test prep. For example, popular apps that help massage therapy students study for their required exams include:
American Massage Therapy Association Massage Exam AppPrepares students for the MBLEx exam with practice questions.
The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork administers a voluntary board certification exam called the BCETMB, which shows advanced standing among massage professionals and is required for graduate students in some states.
How To Get A Massage License
A massage therapy business may be a good endeavor to start if you like working with your hands. Your customers will include those who feel harried by everyday life, people who experience back or muscle pain and even those who simply like to treat themselves to massages. Before you get started, ou will need to obtain a massage license. The requirements for licensing vary from state to state but typically include the completion of state-approved training and passing scores on a licensing exam. Any massage therapists you hire to assist you in your business will need to obtain licensing as well.
Contact your county clerk or the Department of Licenses and Inspections to learn what is required for massage therapy licensing. Some states require aspiring massage therapists to attend state-approved schools for training.
Enroll in a massage therapy program that will meet your state’s licensing criteria and obtain the minimum number of hours of training required in your state. You may find training through a college, community college or vocational school.
Take and pass the required exam upon completion of your massage therapy training. Depending on where you are located, you will have to take a state-specific or national exam to obtain licensing. The massage therapy school you choose will typically provide information about the licensing exam.
Read Also: Massage Studio St Petersburg Fl
Llcs Members Managers Organizers And Directors
The name, address, and position of each member or staff should be listed. Statement of business purpose:
The statement is aimed to express your business motivations, visions, and missions that how your spa benefits customers once its established. Filling requirements for articles of organization may have several slight differences depends on your spas location.
Massage Therapist Certification In Florida: What You Need To Know
2019-05-29 by Florida Academy
If youve ever had a massage or even sat in a massage chair in the mall you know how it feels to have your tension wiped away and your muscles relaxed. It feels so good! Now, imagine helping other people reduce tension, ease joint and muscle pain and even lessen the symptoms of cancer and its treatment. Thats the job of licensed massage therapists but what are the requirements to get a massage therapist certification?
Also Check: Massage Places Mount Pleasant Sc
Spa Management Certificate Or Degree
Spa managers interested in pursuing a formal education in spa management can complete a certificate program or an associates degree to enhance job prospects. The courses in these programs provide and develop the necessary skills and knowledge to run a successful spa business.
A spa management certificate or associates degree program teaches owners how to operate a spa profitably, which covers business, finance, and marketing courses, as well as spa-specific courses.
Grow Your Client Base
We already mentioned that youd be winning over more clients and leading with a trust symbol that captures their attention and makes them more comfortable with booking a deep tissue with you.
Ideally, you could accomplish this by displaying your license visibly in your place of business and also in your social media. Facebook and Instagram are great platforms to post a picture of yourself holding your license!
Make sure to also include the logo of the accredited state institution from which you hold a license on your website. You could even put it on your PocketSuite booking form to increase trust when folks book you online.
All of these tips will help clients choose you over the competition, which ensures the long term health of your massage therapy business!
Don’t Miss: Couples Massage Packages In Miami
Fill Out Your Florida Massage Therapy License Application
The second step is to complete the application and pay the required fees. You can complete the application online or print one and mail it.
In our licensing guide and checklist that comes with our 10-hour Florida Laws and Rules course, we will help you determine if you are an endorsement or examination candidate.
Once you submit your application and pay your fee, you will get a file number. You have one year to complete all of the requirements, or you will need to start a new application.
Business Name And Address:
The name, as well as the brand, is what your company stand for. The stronger your brand is, the more customers will remember your spa, help your business stand out from competitors. The location of the spa is also an important part that directly affects the costs and revenues. For instance, the more visibility you are, the more customer will know about you, and the fewer expenses will be used for advertising.
Read Also: Massage Therapist Looking For Work
Federal Income Tax Id
As you operate a spa business, the tax varies and requires different forms on which you report your business income and expenses. After recording all of your financial information, determine the correct IRS tax form and fill out business earnings and expenses of your business. Also, talk with your tax advisor for other suggestions for your particular situation.
Who Does Not Have To Be Licensed Under The Massage Therapy Law
Review the statutes for the definition of a massage therapist. If you meet the definition you must be licensed. Make sure you read all of the statute for who is not required to be licensed before you assume youre exempt. Refer to the following statute for individuals who are exempt. 32-4221. Licensure persons and activities not required to be licensed
Recommended Reading: How To Start A Massage Spa Business
Request A State Verification
On your application you will need to list all health care related licenses you have held. If needed, you must request an official license verification from all state licensing boards where you hold, or have held, any health-related professional license . These verifications provide the board with important information about your license.
From what I have been told, the board is able to pull license information on many applicants without official verification. However, they cannot pull from every state. If they cannot pull license information from your state, they will send you a deficiency letter requesting you contact the boards where you were licensed and have them forward the Florida board an official license verification.
A verification form is included with the Florida Board of Massage License application. This request often has a fee of up to $50.
To obtain a state verification, you will need to contact the board, or boards, where you were licensed and request the verification be submitted to the Florida board directly from the other licensing board or agency.
If you have never held a massage or health-related license, you can skip to Step 4.
Why I Quit Being A Massage Therapist
The first five years of practice are the most difficult because youre not used to the physical demands, and many massage therapists quit due to burnout. Acclimating to the emotional demands are difficult as well. Clients come to you with frustrations and complaints, often times breaking down and crying in the room.
You May Like: Massage Therapy For Stress And Anxiety
Consider Your Required Approvals
Once you apply for your business licence, outstanding approvals must be completed before the business licence is issued.
A business licence will often have multiple licence types associated with it. Below is a chart of all the related licence types that fall under this business activity. If your business requires multiple licence types, approval processes are only generated once per licence. For example, only one fire inspection is required even if multiple licence types require that inspection.
How Much Does Massage School Cost
Massage school tuition varies dramatically based on the type of degree or certification youre seeking. Even among massage-specific educational tracks, the difference in cost can be huge. For instance, annual tuition for a massage therapy certification for the 2018-2019 academic year is $11,700 at the Healing Mountain Massage School in Salt Lake City, Utah, while an associate degree in massage therapy costs $27,102 a year from the Pacific College of Oriental Medicine in San Diego, California.
You May Like: Upper West Side Massage Spa
How To Become A Certified Massage Therapist In California
Looking for information to obtain a massage license, or get certified, in California?
Legally working as a massage therapist in California is different than any other state. Whether you are a current massage therapist moving to California, or a resident looking for a massage program, sorting through regulations can be challenging and time-consuming.
I am going to cover the current regulations in California and break down the requirements into simple steps. Soon, you will know everything you need to do, or not do, in order to work as a massage professional in the state.