Updates To Massage Therapy Law
House Bill 1865 passed by the 86th Texas Legislature, amended Occupations Code, Chapter 455, relating to the licensing and regulation of massage therapy requiring a student permit authorizing fees. House Bill 1865 and the changes to Chapter 455 became effective September 1, 2019, except Section 455.2035 that takes effect July 1, 2020.
House Bill 2747 also passed by the 86th Texas Legislature, amended Occupations Code, Chapter 455, relating to the licensing and regulation of massage therapy. House Bill 2747 and the changes to Chapter 455 became effective September 1, 2019. TDLR encourages all persons interested in the Massage Therapy program to review the updated Occupations Code, Chapter 455.
Can You Be A Massage Therapist Without A License
Having a massage therapist license prominently displayed for clients to see isn’t just about compliance, though. It helps build trust with new customers and establishes a professional environment where they can truly relax. Since certification and licensure requires extensive classroom work and hands-on experience in many areas of the country, even new massage therapists who are licensed have a great deal of experience working with clients.
Browns Qb Watson Facing Lawsuit From 23rd Massage Therapist
CLEVELAND Another massage therapist has filed a civil lawsuit against Cleveland Browns quarterback Deshaun Watson, raising the number of women who have accused him of sexual misconduct to 23.
Attorney Tony Buzbee, who is representing all the women, filed the latest lawsuit Tuesday in Texas and said in a text to the AP that there could be more legal action forthcoming against Watson.
I will be filing a 24th case soon, he said.
Buzbee did not provide any details about the latest case.
The previous 22 lawsuits were filed in 2021, and two of those cases recently received national attention when two of the women were interviewed for a segment on HBOs Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel.
Both women provided graphic details of their encounters with Watson, who was traded from Houston to Cleveland in March. The Browns sent five draft picks including three first-rounders to the Texans and then signed the three-time Pro Bowler to a fully guaranteed five-year, $230 million contract despite his legal entanglement and the cases still pending.
Watson has denied any wrongdoing, and his lawyer, Rusty Hardin, reiterated the 26-year-olds innocence while commenting on lawsuit No. 23.
Watson is also facing a possible suspension from the NFL, which is independently investigating his behavior to see if he violated the leagues substance-abuse policy.
League investigators recently met with Watson in Houston. Its not know if the league has completed its inquiry.
Recommended Reading: Massage Envy Denver Tech Center
How To Become A Masseuse In Texas
- 500 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every year.
- 6 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for massage therapists in Texas is $45,090 . This is higher than the national average of $42,820 .
- There is a predicted 32% job increase between 20162026 for massage therapists. This is higher than the expected national growth of 22%.
Do you want to work with your hands? Would you like to help people? If so, then massage therapy might be the ideal vocation for you. As more hospitals, clinics and private practices utilize massage therapy as part of their treatment plans, the demand for trained massage therapists has increased dramatically. When you are ready to take the next step in your career, consider researching these massage schools in Texas.
Not only do massage therapists help people feel better, but they often get to work around their own schedules, and many even open up their own practices. But before you can start working on other people, you need to find Texas massage schools to get trained and licensed.
How Many Months Does It Take To Become A Massage Therapist
Your massage therapy school is by far the most crucial component of your career success as a massage therapist.
Without massage therapy education, you will likely have no authority or credibility.
It is your doorway to formal training and certification.
Massage therapy licensing is obtained through vocational school programs. Massage therapy schools can take as little as 5 months to complete.
This means that instead of needing a four-year degree to begin working in the industry, you could easily have your certified training completed in as little as 5 months.
Below are the steps of how to become a massage therapist in Texas.
Also Check: What’s The Swedish Massage
Massage Therapist Specialty Reflexology
Reflexologists target reflex points located in the feet and, to a lesser degree, those located in the hands and ears. Pressure points are believed to correspond to particular parts of the body. Thus applying pressure to them has global as well as local effects. The Reflexology Association of America notes that there are hundreds of studies that document that the practice has therapeutic effects .
Reflexology may, on the surface, seem very similar to acupressure. However, the points are not the same. The practices are also theoretically different. Though it has roots in ancient practice, modern reflexology dates to the early 20th century. Reflexology is already a well-developed discipline, with professional organizations active at the state and national level. One can practice solely as a reflexologist or specialize in reflexology while practicing multiple massage and bodywork techniques. Having a broad background provides a practitioner with the most career flexibility and the most credentialing opportunities.
Complete A Massage Therapy Program
For you to obtain your massage therapy program, applicants are required to complete an approved course of at least 500 credit hours.
The Texas Department of State Health Services requires at least 125 hours of this to be in the Swedish massage therapy theory and technique.
Other classes to expect are in the following areas:
- Professional ethics
- Health and Hygiene
There are specific areas of instruction that the course must include, including 50 hours or more of an internship.
In this internship, students perform massages in a student clinic under the supervision of a massage therapy instructor.
Completing your education is the first step on how to become a massage therapist in Texas.
You May Like: Can I Get A Hot Stone Massage While Pregnant
Understanding Federal And State Massage Therapy License Laws
Regulations about massage therapy certification and licensure are often misunderstood.
Massage therapists aren’t subject to any national regulations when it comes to running this type of business. There isn’t a national licensing or certification program that would allow a single massage therapist to practice anywhere within the United States.
Many states have a massage therapy board that sets educational requirements, testing requirements, and issues licenses. So, it’s important to understand and follow the regulations that apply to massage therapists in the state or states where the therapist practices.
New Human Trafficking Awareness Signs Required No Later Than January 1 2022
Beginning January 1, 2022, all cosmetology businesses – including specialty salons, mobile salons, and schools and allmassage establishments and massage schools are required by Texas law to display a sign with information about available services and assistance to victims of human trafficking,including information on how to report suspicious activity to the Texas Department of Public Safety. The sign has information in five languages.
TDLR has created a sign for you to download and use:
This requirement was put into place by the 87th Texas Legislature in 2021. Please and display it in your business. The sign must be placed in a prominent location where it can be seen by the public.
House Bill 3721, which went into effect on September 1, 2021, requires all cosmetology businesses and massage establishments and schools to display a sign concerning services and assistance to victims of human trafficking. The signs, which had already been required, now must also include information on reporting suspicious activity to the Texas Department of Public Safety. The signs must be displayed no later than January 1, 2022.
More information on how to combat human trafficking:
Also Check: Massage Envy Robinhood Road Winston Salem
Massage Therapy License Requirements By State
If you want to become a foot masseuse, or any kind of masseuse, the “license to touch” requirements vary between states. You can look up massage therapy license requirements depending on the state using resources like the Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals or similar organizations. Alternatively, you can go to your own state’s website and research the licensing laws.
Next Insurance says that four states Wyoming, Vermont, Minnesota and Kansas don’t require a massage license, though county and city governments there may impose their own rules. California has voluntary certification that exempts you from local government foot-masseuse regulations. Indiana lets you practice massage therapy without a license but you can’t claim to be a massage therapist. In North Carolina, some techniques are exempt from licensing rules, but practitioners can’t call themselves massage therapists.
In other states, any sort of massage therapy requires a license. Typically, that takes 500 to 650 hours of education and training. This is general training for massage and bodywork rather than specialized foot-massage training, though the principles will apply to feet too.
Like licensing requirements, each state sets its own penalty for practicing massage without a license. In Florida, you face up to a year in jail. In New York, unlicensed professional massage is a felony. In Oklahoma, advertising that uses the word “massage” without a license is a misdemeanor.
Further Clarification Of Massage Therapy Services Allowed
May 12, 2020
Under the Governors Executive Order GA-21 , massage establishments must remain closed until further notice. GA-21 also prohibits people from providing services which are not designated as essential or re-opened, including massage therapy.
GA-21 designates healthcare providers, including physicians and chiropractors, as essential. It does not include massage therapists, unless they are providing services determined to be medically necessary by a physician, chiropractor, or other healthcare provider. Massage therapy that is not medically necessary is still not allowed. If a licensed massage therapist performs a medically necessary massage, they must do so in accordance with the massage therapy laws and rules, including the requirement of a consultation document. A medically necessary massage may be performed in the office of a physician or chiropractor or any other place that is exempt from the requirement for a massage establishment license under Texas Occupations Code §455.155.
Please note that GA-21 overrides conflicting local orders, and the ability to provide massage therapy may change as further orders are issued.
Don’t Miss: Massage Envy Gift Card Balance Phone Number
Saving Reiki Healing In Texas
Guest blogger San Antonio Reiki master Carolyn Maloney has worked hard to save Reiki healing in Texas. Here she shares how Texas Reiki practitioners foiled two attempts to license Reiki practice. The Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals map tells you where you can ascertain if Reiki practice is regulated in your state.
I Think There Is Human Trafficking Occuring In A Massage Establishment Who Do I Contact
You should always report possible human trafficking situations. Human trafficking is a horrific crime that involves exploiting a person for labor, services, or commercial sex. Unfortunately, massage therapy establishments can be places where this crime occurs.
If you suspect human trafficking, contact the National Human Trafficking Hotline:
If you are in danger and need immediate help, call 911.
Also Check: Massage Envy Thunderbird And Tatum
Cosmetology Salons Nail Salons Estheticians Mini
Under Executive Order GA-18 issued by Gov. Greg Abbott on April 27, all cosmetology salons , barber shops, laser hair removal establishments and massage establishments shall continue to remain closed. Executive Order GA-18 overrides all local and county orders.
Whether a salon or shop is a sole proprietorship or not, they are to remain closed until Executive Order GA-18 is amended or rescinded.
Thank you for continuing to do your part to keep Texas safe by remaining closed. To read more about the Governor’s plan to reopen Texas, please go to .
How Long Does It Take To Become A Professional Massager
A massage therapist in California must complete a program that consists of at least 500 hours of practical experience. You will need to renew your license every two years after you complete your training and obtain your license. You will also need to pay a $150 application fee. Continuing education units are also required in California.
Also Check: 3d Vs 2d Massage Chair
Transcript And Diploma Requests
Transcripts and Diplomas are available upon graduation and full payment of all financial obligations. The first diploma and transcript are included in the price of tuition for students all extra copies are available for a fee. For a second copy of your transcript or diploma please call the front desk at: 446-6629
Transcript Fee $10
Transcript and Diploma Fee $25
Cheers To New Adventures Whatever They May Be
If you are ready to get started with opening your own massage establishment, there are links in the article to the application, fingerprinting, and other requirements. I truly wish you the best. Having my own massage business is one of my greatest professional accomplishments .
Do not see your question answered above? Drop it in the comments below and I will try to help or direct you to someone that can.
Recommended Reading: Difference Between S Track And L Track Massage Chairs
When It’s ‘energy Work’ According To One Local Business And That Isn’t Sitting Well With Some Licensed Competitors
They work the mall corridors like carnival barkers, beckoningshoppers with visions of relaxation a few minutes away from thehustle and bustle of daily life.
Employees of Oriental Chi’s three Tucson-area mall locationsseem to speak limited English, but they know enough to ask, “Howlong?” when a prospect approaches.
As in, how long do you want your body worked on?
The company is careful not to use the word “massage” anywhere inits literature, saying instead they practice only Asian forms of”energy work” that don’t constitute massage. As varieties of”bodywork” have proliferated, practices such as Oriental Chi saythey are fitting into loopholes in a recent state law that requireslicenses of massage therapists and governs their practices.
“We are not doing exactly massage,” said Steven Chen, owner ofOriental Chi.
Rather, his employees engage in shiatsu and qigong energyrelaxation work, he said. And that doesn’t require a license.
It’s a loophole Chen has tried to operate in for the five yearsor so that he’s had businesses here. He also has locations inCalifornia and Colorado two states that have no licensingrequirements.
Some massage therapists and regulators say even businesses suchas Oriental Chi are covered by the law, and that they should belicensed to protect customers as well as the profession.
“They should be shut down immediately,” said Tucson massagetherapist Denise Caywood. “They’re just skirting the law, and theycould be hurting people.”
States That Do Not Require A Massage License
Massage therapists use touch to manipulate various muscles and muscle groups within the body. Therapeutic massage techniques are used to improve circulation, reduce stress, alleviate pain and help soothe and heal muscle injuries. Most states require massage therapists to be licensed or certified through the state. Only six states required no massage therapy licensing in 2014 however, this will be changing in 2015.
You May Like: Amazon Full Body Massage Chair
How To Obtain A Professional License In Massage Therapy
This article was co-authored by . Marty Morales is a Professional Massage Therapist and the Founder and Owner of the Morales Method, a manual therapy and body conditioning business based in the San Francisco Bay Area and in Los Angeles, California. Marty has over 16 years of massage therapist experience and over 13 years of experience educating others on the best practices for massage therapy. Marty has over 10,000 hours of private practice logged and is a Certified Advanced Rolfer and Rolf Movement Practitioner, CMT. He has an MBA in Finance from Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles. This article has been viewed 40,729 times.
Becoming a licensed massage therapist can give you an opportunity to have a rewarding career where you will be able to help people relax and get rid of aches and pains on a daily basis. However, massage therapy is, in nearly all states, a heavily regulated field. Before taking steps to get licensed, decide if it is a career you really want to spend time pursuing. If you believe it is, you will then need to get educated, earn and licenses or certifications that your state may require, and find a job or open up your own business.
Massage Therapists And Establishments Penalties And Sanctions
Massage Therapists and Establishments Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 455 Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 51 16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 117 16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 60
- Failed to timely provide Department with continuing education information – 117.33
- Failed to notify the Department in writing of a change of name, address, telephone number or employment – 117.90
Posting a Public Information Violations
- Failed to publicly display license in the appropriate location, or failed to carry current identification card – 455.204 117.23 117.82
- Failed to notify clients of Departments information for the purpose of directing complaints in a written contract for services, on a sign at the primary business, in a bill for services, or another written and documented method – 117.90
- Failed to maintain continuing education records for a period of five years – 117.33
$1,000 up to $2,500 and/or up to 1-year full suspension
- Failed to surrender license upon demand of the Department – 455.154 117.23 117.82
- Failed to present license upon request of authorized representative – 455.204
Posting a Public Information Violations
- Failed to post in plain sight the license of each massage therapist practicing at that establishment – 455.204
Recommended Reading: Fast Track Massage Therapy Course