Oregon Massage Therapy Continuing Education Requirements
TEMPORARY CE CHANGES DUE TO COVID-19
Massage therapy continuing education requirements for license renewal vary from state to state and the laws are constantly changing. It is our current understanding that as of July 12, 2021 Oregon requires massage therapists to complete only 12 CE hours for license renewal applications received in the Board office between June 30, 2021 to July 1, 2022.
Of the 12 hours, you are required to complete 1 hour in Cultural Competency, and the 1 hour online Pain Management Module course provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission.
Your Current Basic Life Support certification at the time of renewal remains a requirement and the hours spent obtaining your certification may be counted towards your total 12 CE hours.
SUSPENDED: The 4 hour ethics, boundaries and communication requirement is suspended for renewals received between June 30, 2021 and July 1, 2022.
For renewal applications received after July 1, 2022 as well as applications that were submitted before this day but not completed by July 1, 2022, you will be required to complete the 25 CE hours typically required including a minimum of 15 contact hour as well as all of the other course requirements including ethics.
Massage Articles And Guides
From both our own experience and countless emails, we know there are a lot of massage therapists with special situations. Sometimes these questions cannot be fully answered in our licensing and renewal pages. A few examples:
- I never took an exam to get my current license, do I have to take an exam to get licensed?
- Do I need a massage establishment license if I travel to my clients?
- Can I have an establishment in my home?
- How do I transfer a license to Florida from California, New York, or Canada?
- Can I hold massage therapy licenses in multiple states?
We are constantly creating articles and guides to help you find the answers to your specific questions. You can learn more here.
Free Business & Marketing Ce
$0 members / $0 non-members 2 CE credits
Specific actions can help get massage therapy clients in the door and ensure they return. Learn unique ways to plan your marketing for a start-up clientele and for repeat business.
$0 members / $0 non-members 2 CE credits
All businesses go through cycles. This course addresses the cycles of expansion and recovery and how to assess your business to formulate a plan you can use to address your business building needswhether for expansion or to recover from a decline in business.
$0 members / $0 non-members 2 CE credits
Learn how you can protect yourself from legal malpractice action. This course includes actions you should take if you suspect youll be sued or if it comes to pass that you are actually sued.
$0 members / $0 non-members 3 CE credits
Learn how to confidently deliver presentations and courses about health and wellness that will help to improve success with current massage therapy clients and cultivate new clients.
$0 members / $0 non-members 3 CE credits
Effective communication with your massage therapy clients can be the key to a successful massage therapy practice. Learn innovative ways to build business success through personal interactions.
You May Like: Massage Jobs In Dallas Tx
Tailoring Your Education To Career Needs
One 500 hour program cant prepare you for all the situations youll encounter. Your basic program might be very much like your peers it meets licensing standards and likely includes the core curriculum identified by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.
After years of attending conferences and taking internet courses, your education may look very different from someone elses. It may be tailored to your work setting or to your desired work setting. You may be interested in particular techniques or in learning to better care for patients with particular health challenges. Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards president Kevin Snedden, in a question and answer session with the American Massage Therapy Association, notes that spa employers may ask about continuing education in interviews . In a separate article about massage in healthcare settings, AMTA notes that its a good idea to take continuing education specifically focused on the target population e.g. cancer patients .
Continuing Education Reporting Account Types
The Departments Continuing Education Tracking system is powered by CEBroker
FREE Just The Basics Account This account provides all the necessary tools for you to comply with the departments reporting requirements. You can view your basic course history, which will list the course name, educational provider name, date of completion and hours reported. It would then be up to you to determine whether all of the courses that have been reported will complete all of your specific continuing education requirements. You can also self-report any continuing education that may be missing.
Professional Account This account provides you with all of the tracking tools that CE Broker offers. Your transcript will display what your specific CE requirements are and will calculate what requirements have been met and what may still be outstanding. A Professional Account is a subscription service and is not a requirement but it can be a useful tool in managing your Florida continuing education requirements should you chose to subscribe. This account offers a 7 day Free Trial. This is NOT the FREE account.
Read Also: Hand And Stone Massage Southern Pines
Oregons Massage Licensing Requirements During Coronavirus Lockdowns
On March 24th of 2020, the Oregon State Board of Massage Therapists announced a rules suspension regarding LMT license renewals. This rules suspension will continue until Oregons state of emergency is lifted. Recently, the governor extended the state of emergency through March 3, 2021.During the state of emergency, the Board has temporarily allowed more flexibility for license renewals, as outlined below.
Despite all the changes induced by the pandemic, some things have not changed when it comes to massage therapy in Oregon:
Application Due Dates. LMT renewal applications are still due on the 1st of each therapists birth month.
Cultural Competency CE Required. At least one hour of cultural competency CE is still needed to renew a license, even during the statewide emergency.
The Pain Management Module, which is posted on the boards website and provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission, still must be completed, and counts as 1 hour toward the 12 hours needed for massage therapy licensure renewal.
Basic Life Support certification, including CPR, is still compulsory, and also counts toward the 12 obligatory hours of CE.
Any licensure renewal applications received after the statewide emergency has been lifted must meet pre-pandemic conditions, including 25 hours of CE.
The Beaver State is not alone in the decision to change massage licensing and renewal requirements during the COVID-19 crisis. Contact hours are suspended or altered in several other states as well.
Indiana Massage Therapy Continuing Education Requirements
Massage therapy continuing education requirements for license renewal vary from state to state and the laws are constantly changing. It’s our current understanding that the Indiana Board of Massage Therapy does not require continuing education for massage therapists’ certification renewal, however, certifications need to be renewed by May 15th every 4 years.
If you would like to verify this information, or have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements, we suggest contacting the Indiana Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Indiana Board is 317-234-8800 or visit their website at .
The Institute for Integrative Healthcare Studies is approved by the NCBTMB as a continuing education Approved Provider . All of our continuing education programs can be used for National Certification renewal.
You may also use our credits for other organizations you may belong to, such as the American Massage Therapy Association or Associated Bodywork Massage Professionals .
Enroll Risk-Free! Examine our courses for up to 90 days and if you’re not 100% satisfied by the quality or our service, your full tuition cost will be cheerfully refunded. Learn more about our guarantee.
Take our free online course:Ethics Refresher
You May Like: Massage Close To My House
Human Trafficking Awareness With Ethics
Instructor: Beth Ashcraft, LMT
Human Trafficking AwarenessIdentifying and Reporting Victims
$40 Irenes Alumni and $60 General Public
New Dates Coming Soon!
For less than 24-hour cancellation, we will refund 50% of the cost of class. The remaining balance less the $50 fee can be applied to future classes. This amount is nontransferable. If registration was made using complimentary elective hours, all of the hours used will be lost from the account.
For The Renewal Periods Ending December 31 2021 2022 And 2023 Only All Continuing Education Activities Are Allowed To Be Completed Online
You are now able to update your continuing education requirements online.
To access your information you will need:
It is also important that you keep your email address information current and add the Board to your safe senders list. The Board will be sending email reminders for licensure renewal. If you have never logged on to the online system before, please read all of the instructions below before logging on for the first time.The first time you log-in you will use your license number as your log-in and the last four digits of your social security number for your password. The next screen will prompt you to change your password. Make a note of your new password as it will be required to log-in and track your continuing education throughout the year and for your license renewal. You will use the same log-in and password any time you access your information on this website. If you have already completed an online renewal, you will use the same password you created at that time to update your information.
Recommended Reading: Free Up Professional Massage Cream Sds
Approved Continuing Education Providers
All licensed massage therapy schools are also approved to provide continuing education, and may issue either continuing education certificates, or transcripts showing advanced course work . Search for a licensed massage school
The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, is a recognized continuing education provider. Providers and courses which have been approved by the NCBTMB will be accepted for continuing education, but courses must be directly related to the acceptable course curriculum.
Board Of Massage Licensure
Failure to comply with continuing education requirements may result in disciplinary action against the licensee or registrant. The disciplinary action will be reported on the Department of Health license verification web site.
Continuing education is mandatory for licensed massage therapist. Each licensed massage therapist must attend and complete twenty-four hours of massage therapy related continuing education in courses approved by the Board on or before December 31st of 2004 and again every two calendar years thereafter for as long as the therapists license remains active. The due date for completion of the continuing education hours is the same for every licensed massage therapist in this state.
New licensees will have his or her required continuing education hours pro-rated and for those obtaining a license during September, October, November and December of the second year of the cycle must obtain four hours of continuing education in the subject areas required by subparagraphs and which are the two hours pertaining to federal and Tennessee statutes and rules concerning massage therapist and establishments and two hours pertaining to the management of practicing massage therapy, or to professional ethics, or to substance abuse. New licensees are no longer exempt during the first year of licensure.
|First Year of the Cycle
|Second Year of the Cycle
Continuing Education Via Live Interactive Webinars
Read Also: Best Foot Massager For Morton’s Neuroma
Michigan Massage License Renewal And Continuing Education Requirements
The following information is Irenes Myomassology Institutes best understanding of the Michigan Massage Licensing Boards rules.
- Irenes pays for our students initial Michigan Massage Therapy License when they graduate.
- Continuing Education is not required for license renewals of less than 3 years.
- Continuing Education is required for all 3 year license renewals.
- The CE requirement is 18 hours over 3 years.
- The license expiration year and date is printed on licenses.
- Renewal information is sent is emailed in advance of expiration. Snail mail will only be sent if the therapist specifically requests that in advance.
- It is your responsibility to keep your contact information with the State current. You must notify the State if you change your email address or move, etc..
- Of the required 18 CE hours, 1 hour must be in ethics and 1 hour must be in pain management.
- The 18 hours of CE must be completed during that 3-year renewal cycle. CE cannot be taken prior to renewal. Classes taken before that will not count towards CE.
- Massage schools/programs approved by the State for entry level education are approved to offer CE classes.
- CE providers can also be approved by the NCBTMB, FSMTB, or COMTA.
- CE hours cannot be carried from one renewal period to the next. If you complete extra hours in a 3-year cycle, you still must complete 18 hours for the next renewal.
- No more than 12 CE hours can be completed in a 24-hour period.
- You cannot earn CE credit for the same class more than once.
Ivy Hultquist Lmt Ma66325
Ivy is our Florida licensing and renewal expert. If you have a question about licensing and renewal requirements, she will be the one to assist you. Like you, she loves being a massage therapist.
She has been a licensed massage therapist since 2001. Since transferring her license to Florida in 2010, she has helped over 2000 massage therapists get licensed in Florida. In that time, she has also reported over 20,000 Florida continuing education course completions to CE Broker for license renewal . She is much better at all of the above than she is at folding a fitted sheet.
Her Favorite Place in Florida
Anna Maria Island, just south of Pine Avenue, searching for sand dollars with a cup of coffee in her hand.
Don’t Miss: Deep Tissue Massage Staten Island
Ce Requirements For License Renewal
SPECIAL NOTICE! The ND Board of Massage Therapy has made the following change to the continuing education requirements in light of the COVID-19 Pandemic:-Odd-numbered licenses whose license expiration date is 2/28/2023, the hands-on hours requirement remains in place. There is a limit of 10 hours which may be earned on-line. The NDBMT will continue to monitor the pandemic and any decision to waive the hands-on hours requirement will be considered at a later date.-Even-numbered licenses whose license expiration date is 2/28/2022, the hands-on hours requirement has been waived for this upcoming renewal of license only. All other continuing education laws remain in place. Therefore, for this upcoming renewal, you may complete all of your CE hours on-line!
Applicable to ALL ND licensees:*Credit hours may not be carried into the next license renewal period.*The Board does not keep track of hours for you.*The Board does a random audit of licensees at the time of license renewal. If you are selected for the random audit, you will receive an e-mail notifying you and instructing you how to complete the audit portion of the license renewal process.
Licensed/actively practicing for 15 to 24 years:Six hours of continuing education are required every two years. All 6 hours may be completed via hands-on or on-line methods.
Can I Get My Ce Hours With Ce Massage
Yes! Click to view the requirement for your state.
find a Course or Package
- To begin a search, click on “Online Courses.”
- You will be directed to our list of courses and packages.
- You can determine what fits your needs and wants.
- The best part is, you have one year to take your courses!
CREATE AN ACCOUNT OR LOG IN
- If you have an account, welcome back! To log in, .
- If you are a new customer, welcome! To register, .
- Everything is stored within your account, such as course material, exams, and certificates. Access your certificates anytime you need!
access your course & exam
- Inside your account, you will be able to access your courses & exams.
- You can view most of our courses right on the website or download each course for offline viewing, printing, and searching.
- You can easily print out exam questions and save your progress on the online exam to access at a later time.
access your certificates & renew
- Now that you have done the hard part, you can access your certificates upon passing each course.
- Your certificates are stored within your account for you to view and print.
- To access your certificates, log into your account and click on “Certificates” to view your certificates and transcript.
You May Like: Best Low Cost Massage Chair
What Are The Next Steps
Here at CE Massage®, we love to help and assist our customers. We have thousands of therapists who highly recommend us, and we really attempt to provide customer support that is above and beyond our competitors. Here are the general steps when using CEMassage.com.
1. Find your courses, package, or call to customize
We have a selection of courses that meet your needs as well as your interests. The very first step is to determine what you need and then what you would like to take.
2. Order and Access Your Courses
After you order, everything is assigned to your CE Massage account. From there, you will then access your material and exams all from inside your account. No third-party sign ins to remember it is all within your one account.
3. Study Time
Now it is time to study. You can view most of our courses directly on the website without downloading anything, but all of the courses do come as a PDF file for those who would like to download, search and print easily. We allow one year from the purchase date to complete courses, so you have plenty of time to get everything done.
4. Non-Timed Exam
Whenever you are ready, you can take the online exam. The exam can be saved and accessed later, so there is no need to stress out if you cannot get it done in one sitting. You can literally come back months later, and your answers are saved.
5. Certificates and Renewing