Monday, April 22, 2024

Maryland Massage Therapy License Requirements

Key Agencies/boards Involved And Their Contact Information

MD State Massage Therapy Exam | Stevenson University

The is the governing Board that oversees and is the licensing author for Massage Therapists and Massage Practitioners in the state of Maryland.

And also, the Board is set to regulate the practice of massage therapy in the state, administer licensing examinations, enforce statutes and regulations and carry out the laws as they apply to the massage industry.

And also, if you would like to contact the Board for any questions or concerns you may have regarding your massage license.

So please feel free to do so using the following contact information:

Massage Therapy Advisory Committee

So your massage license will need to be renewed biennially on every even-numbered calendar year.

The expiration for your license will always be October 31st of the even-numbered calendar year.

The Board will notify you of your renewal by an Email Blast that will be sent out a few months prior to October.

And also, if you do not renew before October 31st

So you will be charged a late penalty of $200 in addition to the renewal fee.

To renew, you will need to do so online, unless if you are planning to reinstate a non-renewed license or if you are planning to reactivate from an inactive status.

To access the renewal online system you will need to visit the Boards website at www.mdmassage.org and click on the renewal functioning links located on the homepage.

From there, you will log in and begin the renewal process.

In addition to renewing your massage license.

Our Massage Therapy Ce Courses Approved For Alaska

Maryland requires massage therapists complete 24 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal by October 31 of renewal year. Your courses must include 3 hours Ethics, 3 hours in communicable disease education which includes AIDS/HIV 1 hour in diversity or cultural competencies AND 17 hours in massage therapy coursework.

Adawehi Institute is approved by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork as a continuing education Approved Provider. All of our courses are available to you to complete your CE requirements for renewal. In particular, we offer a 3 hour online Ethics course and a 2 hour online Communication course which meets the 1 hour requirement for Diversity.

For Additional Information

If you have questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements, we suggest contacting the Maryland Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Maryland Board is 410-764-4738 or visit their website at

Disclaimer: Please note that we provide this information as a courtesy, but do not guarantee its accuracy because laws are continually subject to change. Your State Board will hold you ultimately responsible for knowing the laws that apply to you. Please contact your State Board with any questions about your license.

Brief Summary Of The Main Highlights

So the state of Maryland has set requirements and guidelines that you must meet before you will be granted a massage therapy license.

And also, you will be required to take a certain amount of schooling, take national exams, a local exam, and need to apply to the state.

Continue reading for this information in more detail.

Recommended Reading: Hand And Stone Massage St Johns Town Center

Massage Practitioner/ Massage Therapist Educational Requirements

All Maryland massage students can expect a foundation in the following:

  • Anatomy/ physiology/ kinesiology
  • Contraindications
  • Professional ethics

Like other states, Maryland mandates that the massage therapy hours be completed through an approved program.

A prospective LMT will need 60 credit hours of higher education along with either 24 credit hours of coursework in basic and applied healthcare-related sciences or 24 hours of approved advanced continuing education in massage therapy. Higher education is to come from an institution that is approved by the Maryland Higher Education Commission.

The MHEC website includes information about both colleges and private career schools . The schools themselves can be a resource. The College of Southern Maryland, for example, offers an advanced certificate program, which it notes may be useful for individuals who were educated in other jurisdictions.

Finish On All Devices

Maryland Massage Therapy Continuing Education Requirements &  Online Courses

The process of getting Maryland Continuing Education credits is simple, convenient, and easy: The Massage CEU Monkey course process allows you to start and finish courses at your own convenience. Want your massage CEU certificate right away? Receive it immediately after you pass the quiz, and print or save a copy for your records. For those individuals who prefer a hard copy of the course, you can print out the material to read at your leisure, and begin the quiz when youre ready.

You can finish all your continuing education requirements on your desktop, mobile phone, or I-Pad/tablet. Visit our Massage CEU page to find out about any other state requirements.

Also Check: Massage Therapy Covered By Medicare

Massage Therapy License Requirements

States that license or certify Massage Therapists have dedicated regulatory divisions or boards where they have posted the necessary Massage Therapist licensure requirements. Locating the Massage Therapist License requirements on a states regulating agency website can be difficult with the additional legislation and materials they also have on their we/bsite. Often a states Massage Therapy Licensure Board is under the umbrella of the department of health or medical licensure making it even more difficult to sort through and locate the Massage Therapist license requirements you are looking for.

As a student or recent graduate, it is very common to feel confused about where to look for licensure information and the steps you will need to take along the way. MassageTherapyLicense.org has made the process simple and more efficient for you by providing direct navigation to the licensure information you need to help secure a Massage Therapy license in your state.

A state licensing Massage Therapists assures that only those Massage Therapists who have met specific requirements are treating clients. Massage Therapist licensure helps to ensure a level of safety and confidence for both client and Massage Therapist.

Get Relaxed And Rejuvenated Today With Massage Therapy In Makham

Many people in Markham, Ontario, are dealing with stress. If you have been feeling this way and want to try something new, consider professional massage therapy services. Massage therapy is a form of physical therapy that can help reduce tension in the body by increasing blood flow and circulation. Its also a great way to kick back after a long day at work or school!

Massage therapy is a great way to relax and relieve stress, pain, and tension in your muscles. Our massage therapists are experts at finding the right pressure points on your body that will leave you feeling rejuvenated and refreshed. Its like taking a mini-vacation from all of lifes stresses!

If youre interested in learning more about our services or would like to schedule an appointment, dont hesitate to get in touch with us today! We offer competitive rates for individuals, so we look forward to hearing from you soon.

ABOUT US

Richmond Hill Massage Therapy is a multidisciplinary clinic that offers massage therapy. Our team of licensed professionals is dedicated to providing our clients with the best possible care from start to finish. We offer a full range of wellness programs aimed at helping you achieve your goals for health and fitness. Visit us today!

Also Check: How To Become A Facial Massage Therapist

You May Like: Does Medicare Pay For Medical Massage Therapy

Applicants With Criminal Convictions

If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor or pleaded guilty or no-contest to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire along with your application materials.

Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.

Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.

Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.

How Our Program Works:

Nashville massage therapist stripped of license amid claims of inappropriate sexual behavior

1. START ONLINE:

The online classes can be taken from any device, including your smartphone. This allows you to jump in and work on your coursework any time. These classes cover business, theory, and science. They can also be taken at your own pace. Finally, there is no semester system and no start or end date for the online courses. If you need extra time for a class because work is busy, then take it. If you have some free time and want to work through an entire course quickly, then you can. The instructors are all licensed massage therapists who will guide you throughout your massage therapy education.

2. DO YOUR HANDS-ON TRAINING A SPA/CLINIC THAT IS HIRING:

Hands-on training is the essential part of becoming a skilled massage therapist. Licensed Massage Therapist instructors will offer structured learning, supervision, and mentorship. You will do this training at the local clinics in Arizona, working in a small group of students.

Don’t Miss: How To Massage A Sore Neck

How Do I Become A Massage Therapist In Maryland

If youre ready to move into your career as a massage therapist in Maryland, you must register with the . The application fee is $150. Once you are registered, you must receive licensure by the Board. If you do not register, you will be working illegally and can receive a fine.

In order to receive this license, you must complete a minimum of 600 hours from an approved massage therapy program and be certified by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork. Students must also complete 60 credit hours of college course work.

You can find application request forms on their website.

Massage Therapist Examination Requirements

National Examination: The Board will accept multiple national examinations. Fully five are referenced in application materials. Some, however, are no longer available.

The Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination is currently available and is accepted in most U.S. states. It is offered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards. Candidates do not need to submit transcripts in order to be approved to sit for the examination. They do need to confirm that they have read the candidate handbook. They can apply online and receive examination authorization within five business days . Examinations are computer-delivered they are available year-round through Pearson VUE.

The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork Board Certification Exam is another current offering . The NCBTMB has set the minimum education requirement at 750 hours. Before a candidate can actually achieve certification, he or she must practice at the professional level for a minimum of six months and accrue a minimum of 250 practice hours.

Two of the examinations referenced are former offerings of the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork. The National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork were both offered until February of 2015.

You May Like: Nearest Massage Place To My Location

How To Become A Masseuse In Maryland

  • 600 education hours are required to become licensed.
  • You must renew your license every 2 years.
  • 24 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
  • The average salary for massage therapists in Maryland is $37,020 . This is higher than the national average of $42,820 .
  • There is a predicted 5% job increase between 20162026 for massage therapists. This is lower than the expected national growth of 22%.

Urban areas such as Baltimore and Annapolis are good areas to begin looking at massage therapy schools in Maryland, though there are strong massage schools located across the Old Line state. The massage therapy is an increasingly popular one, and the demand only seems to be rising for these health and wellness services.

What We Can Do For You

Deenie Hale, LMT, Certified Fascial Stretch Therapist Level 1
  • You may take all CE 24 hours through our home study programs.
  • You can use our various ethics, communicable disease and diversity/cultural competency continuing education courses to satisfy Maryland’s specific topic requirements. Or you can choose from our specially priced Maryland packages that will include all of the Maryland course specific requirements.
  • Because the Institute for Integrative Healthcare Studies is approved by the NCBTMB as a continuing education Approved Provider, the Maryland Board of Massage will accept all of our 145+ courses to satisfy the 24-hour requirement with the exception of courses related to animal massage, insurance, practice building or marketing.

If you would like to verify this information, or have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements, we suggest contacting the Maryland Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Maryland Board is 410-764-4738 or visit their website at .

The Institute for Integrative Healthcare Studies is approved by the NCBTMB as a continuing education Approved Provider . All of our continuing education programs can be used for National Certification renewal.

You may also use our credits for other organizations you may belong to, such as the American Massage Therapy Association or Associated Bodywork Massage Professionals .

Take our free online course:Ethics Refresher

Don’t Miss: Massage Envy Free 60 Minute

Community College Of Baltimore County

18830

About 25 miles east of Baltimore lies Essex, the site of this public school. CCBCs associate in applied science program is certified by the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation.

Students may attend classes full or part time to fulfill the 60-credit requirement. Among the courses are Foundations of Communication, College Composition, Finite Mathematics and Modeling, Multicultural Psychology, Assessment and Self Care Skills, and Introduction to Business and Industry.

At a student clinic, real clients receive Swedish relaxation massages, as well as therapeutic treatments like deep tissue massage and myofascial release. Program admission is competitive and selective, according to the school.

  • 7201 Rossville Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland 21237
  • http://www.ccbcmd.edu

Massage Therapy Licensing State Of Iowa

Becoming a massage therapist is an intrinsically and financially rewarding career. Most states require an individual to obtain a license prior to being able to practice within the state. State licensing requirements usually include a certain number of educational and hands-on practice hours as well as a passing score on a competency exam. Massage therapist licensing requirements vary by state and the minimum requirements and hours are subject to change at any time.

Iowa Massage Therapist Licensing Requirements

The Iowa Board of Massage Therapy Examiners recently increased the number of required massage therapist training hours from 500 to 600. To receive state licensing, an individual must undertake the minimum 600 hours of training at an accredited school and be able to provide proof of graduation. A passing score on the MBLEx or NCETMB exam is required to receive massage therapist licensing. State licensing requirements also include current CPR and First Aid course certification. As a LaJames College Graduate, we offer assistance not only for the licensing exam requirements but we also offer a free placement service. This includes but is not limited to helping with resumes, cover letters, employment research, licensing requirements in other states , etc As long as we are here, we offer this assistance at no cost to our graduates. Thats our commitment to you, our graduate.

Massage Therapist Licensing Term / Renewal

State Licensing Application Process

Read Also: Compact Hammer Massager Percussion Massager 3000

Holistic Massage Training Institute

This private school in Baltimore offers an 810 contact hour certificate program that takes 11 or 17 months. Day, evening, and Sunday classes are available.

Students receive business training, as well as instruction in massage techniques such as Swedish, deep tissue, Shiatsu, prenatal, infant and children, geriatric, hot and cold stone, and Thai. There are also classes in acupressure, myofascial release, craniosacral therapy, reflexology, and chakra balancing.

Students are members of the American Massage Therapy Association. They receive employment assistance and attend job fairs. The percentage of graduates who pass the licensing exam far exceeds state and national averages.

  • 2834 Loch Raven Road, Baltimore, Maryland 21218
  • http://www.massagetrainingbaltimore.com

An extension of Columbia College in Virginia, this for-profit Silver Springs school awards massage therapy certificates. Students can complete the required 600 contact hours in as few as 30 weeks, though they may take up to 45 weeks.

In addition to the state-mandated coursework, there are classes in Medical Terminology, Business and Ethics, and Energetic Foundations. Students receive 100 hours of training in massage techniques, and take part in a 100-hour practicum at the end of the program.

The school serves its graduates with continuing education classes that theNational Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork has approved.

  • 700 York Rd, Towson, Maryland 21204-9840
  • http://www.fortis.edu

License Required For A Massage Therapist In The State Of Maryland

Massage Therapy Schools & Certification Requirements in Kentucky

Most states require a license to practice massage therapy. The state of Maryland actually issues two types of licenses: licensed massage therapist and registered massage practitioner. Education and compensation are the major differences between the designations, which are both issued by the Board of Chiropractic & Massage Therapy Examiners. This board operates out of the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene.

Don’t Miss: Come To You Massage Therapist

Minimum Education Requirements For Massage Therapy Programs In Maryland

The path to become a massage therapist in Maryland starts with a high school education or general education diploma. Postsecondary training must be at an accredited institute or college that offers an MT program satisfying board requirements.

Curricula need to feature a minimum of 600 contact hours of classroom instruction, including 100 hours of anatomy, pathology, physiology, and kinesiology and 500 hours in massage therapy theory, technique, supervised practice, and professional ethics.

Beyond the basics, some programs have courses in a broader range of massage modalities. Others teach students how to set up their own massage businesses, or provide more extensive hands-on training in clinics.

There are two classifications of Maryland professionals. A licensed massage therapist must complete the 600 hours of education and 60 college credits, and pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination. A registered massage practitioner can work only outside healthcare settings. All license applicants have to pass a jurisprudence exam regarding state laws.

When applying for license renewals every two years, massage therapists must show evidence of having received 24 hours of continuing education. There need to be three hours in professional ethics or jurisprudence three hours in communicable disease education 17 hours in massage-related courses that the board has approved and one hour in diversity or cultural competency.

Popular Articles
Related news