Alabama Continuing Education Requirements
Please understand that massage laws change frequently and vary from state to state. We will try to provide you with the most current information possible.
It is our understanding that currently, Alabama therapists must complete 16 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal based on the date of initial licensure. We are an Alabama approved provider so you can use any of our courses for your license renewal.
You can verify this information or contact the state of Alabama with further questions by visiting the Alabama Board of Massage.
Please note that all of our courses can be used for NCBTMB recertification, our approved provider number is 409296-00. You may also use any of our CE courses for renewal with organizations such as the AMTA and ABMP .
For Massage Therapists Moving To Alabama
For massage therapists moving to Alabama who wish to become licensed the process may be a bit less straightforward, especially if you have been a therapist for a long time, the state youre moving from doesnt require licensure, and/or you never took a national examination.
If you currently hold a license in another state and you took the NCTM or MBLEx exam and passed then you should request an application for a license, fill it out and submit it. Unless you have a significant difference in educational hours, I suspect your application will go through pretty easily. In the case of a large difference in educational hours, I recommend documenting all your continuing education along with associated hours to send with your application.
If youre reading this article because you have been a therapist for a number of years, you dont have a license from your current state, and/or you never took the NCTM or MBLEx, let me put your mind at ease right away. It is possible and you probably wont have to take the national exam to get your license here.
According to the Code of Alabama, Title 34. Professions and Businesses, Chapter 43. Massage Therapists, § 34-43-9. Application for license educational requirements, paragraph b,
So thats good news! Yay! Take a deep breath and know you can do this.
Heres a jumping off point for getting started with this process:
California Massage Therapy License Requirements:
In order to obtain CAMTC Certification as a Certified Massage Therapist, an applicant shall submit an application in its entirety and provide satisfactory evidence that he or she meets all of the following requirements:
Note the CAMTC Closed School Policy:
Recommended Reading: Massage Envy Maple Grove Mn
Requirements On How To Become A Licensed Massage Therapist In Arkansas:
Massage Therapy Examination Application and Licensure Process:
1. Section receives all required documents and fees prior to state law examination:
- Completed Application
- MBLEx or NCBTMB exam Score Report
- Criminal Background Checks
- Verification of Licensure
2. Once all correct and complete documents and fees are received, the applicant will receive an e-mail containing a link and access to the online version of the state law examination.
3. Results will be sent via email to the applicant.
4. If a passing score is not achieved, a Re-Examination Form and payment of $25.00 mailed to the Section will be required before gaining access to online examination for re-testing.
List of Approved Massage Therapy Schools in Arkansas:
For more information on How to become a Licensed Massage Therapist in Arkansas, visit:
Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy101 East Capitol Ave, Ste 460P.O. Box 2019
Northeast Alabama Community College
Massage therapy students at his small school in Rainsville take the following courses: Introduction to Therapeutic Massage, Therapeutic Massage Lab, Anatomy and Physiology, Musculoskeletal and Kinesiology, Therapeutic Massage Supervised Clinic, Business and Marketing Plans, Therapeutic Massage for Special Populations, and Pathology.
Those wishing to earn an associate in applied science degree in salon and spa management, a 69- to 72-credit-hour program, also study English humanities and fine arts history, social, and behavioral sciences and natural sciences and mathematics. In addition, there are three technical core courses and 38 credit hours of program option classes.
- 138 Highway 35, Rainsville, Alabama 35986
Recommended Reading: Belly Massage For Weight Loss
Job Growth Outlook: High
Within the next ten years, the career outlook for Massage Therapists is projected to rise 22 percent.
This is much higher than many other careers, including ones that are not in the same field.
More states are adopting the licensing requirements and standards that many Massage Therapists must deal with.
This means that more massage therapy facilities will open, and more jobs will need to be filled.
Also, healthcare providers and insurance companies are realizing that there are benefits to massage therapy and are beginning to offer massage services.
Practicing Massage Without A License In California
In California, certification is voluntary, so it could qualify as one of the states that do not require a massage license.
Issued by the California Massage Therapy Council , the certification allows a therapist to practice inside the state without having to complete additional requirements imposed by the city or town.
If you don’t have a massage license or certification in California and the city or town where you practice doesn’t impose additional requirements, there isn’t a penalty for practicing massage without a license in California.
Recommended Reading: Hands On Approach School Of Massage And Spa
Choose The Right Massage Therapist Course Near Dothan Al
Good luck as you embark on your journey to begin a career as a professional massage therapist. As with all things worth achieving, it will take a lot of hard work and dedication to succeed. You originally came to this website because of your interest in Cost To Become A Massage Therapist. However, by following the suggestions contained within this article, you will have an excellent opportunity for success by enrolling in the right massage therapy school. And with the right education you will soon become a professional massage therapist servicing the Dothan Alabama area.
More Therapeutic Locations in Alabama
Can You Practice Massage Without A License
Small business owners face a number of challenges. For massage therapists in some areas, certification and continuing education are an important part of keeping their business in compliance with local and state laws. Failing to do so could result in fines or even jail time if they are convicted of performing massage without a license.
Life Can Be Unpredictable
In the hands-on profession of massage therapy, unpredictable events can cause unexpected and problematic issues. Accidents or miscommunication can lead to significant claims, which is why a number of states require massage practitioners to have coverage.
For one low flat fee, massage therapists can receive the quality, comprehensive coverage they deserve, avoiding the costly impact that a lawsuit can bring. Even the most careful massage therapists can make a mistake, or encounter one of those hard-to-please clients that finds fault in a treatment, even if nothing really went wrong. Learn more about what it takes in each state to become a licensed massage therapists and any additional liability insurance requirements for business owners or individual practitioners. Take a quick look at policy details and benefits.
How To Choose The Right Massage Therapist Degree Program Near Dothan Alabama
Choosing the right massage therapy school near Dothan AL is an important first step to beginning a rewarding first or second career as a massage therapist. After all, who wouldnt want to work in an occupation where the sole purpose is to help people feel and function better? Massage therapists can work in a wide variety of locations, including hospitals, day spas, health clubs and even aboard cruise ships! But before starting a career in this specialty of holistic healthcare, receiving the proper training and licensing is a must. And keep in mind that not all massage therapy programs are alike. When making your evaluations, its important that you look at all aspects of the schools you are considering and not just the cost or convenience of the locations. We will provide some basic tips that you should incorporate into your due diligence process when selecting a massage therapist school.
You May Like: Hand And Stone Massage Boca
Where Can I Study
The Alabama Board of Massage Therapy provides a list of approved schools where future LMTs can complete their 650 required hours.
Birmingham is one of the most popular cities in Alabama to study massage, with two leading schools operating there: Birmingham School of Massage and Virginia College at Birmingham.
- Birmingham School of Massage: With a mission to provide students with the best training and education possible in the field of massage therapy according to the standards set by the Alabama State Board of Massage Therapy, this school includes lessons on anatomy, physiology, interpersonal communication skills, business, and marketing. Students will also receive clinic experience to learn the skills necessary in a professional massage practice.
- Virginia College at Birmingham: With small class sizes and the option to study during the day or at night, this school wants future LMTs to learn at their convenience. As a career-training school, Virginia College specializes in providing the education and training demanded by a competitive job market and hopes that this training will lead to exciting opportunities for their graduates.
Massage Therapist Training Options
Most people and certainly spas and health clubs will require that you have some form of formal education in order to give massages. In fact, having a massage therapist license is the law in most states. Just note, each state has its own requirements regarding which programs it recognizes to become a licensed massage therapist. Since massage therapist license requirements by state differ, its important you do your research before enrolling in any course.
Massage therapy license online
Although massage therapy is a hands-on job, there are online certification courses you can take. During such programs, you will take a standard massage course path. This includes learning about anatomy, body movement, professional ethics, hygiene and of course, different massage disciplines. The academic portion, however, will need to be supplemented by in-person training. A good online course will take this into account and have regular meet-ups at a convenient location. If not, the course should instruct you on what to do, to complete the experience portion of your studies.
You May Like: Massage Therapy Schools Nyc Cost
Questions To Ask Massage Therapy Courses
Before you choose a massage therapy school, there are some important questions that you need to ask about the programs you are considering. As previously mentioned, the location of the school is important, particularly if you will be commuting to classes from Tuskegee Institute AL. And of course the total cost, including tuition, books and all training materials will also be an important factor. But beyond those basic qualifications, following are some questions you should ask so that you have all of the facts before choosing a massage therapist training program.
Requirements On How To Become A Licensed Massage Therapist In South Dakota:
1. Completed application and non refundable application fees payment
2. Copy of Birth Certificate or driverâs license
3. Proof of Education
a. A copy of high school diploma or equivalent
b. Proof of at least 500 hours of specific training in massage therapy
4. Proof of a passing score on an accepted Massage Therapy national certification exam
NCETMB , NCETM, NESL, MBLEx .
5. Proof of Professional Liability Insurance of at least $250,000
For more information on How to be an LMT in South Dakota, Visit:
South Dakota Board of Massage TherapyPO Box #340, 105 S. Euclid Ave. Suite CPierre, SD 57501
Recommended Reading: Massage School How Long Does It Take
Alabama Massage Therapy Requirements
Institute of Somatic Therapy is approved by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork as a continuing education Approved Provider. Our NCBTMB continuing education Approved Provider Number is 280672-00. Our Florida provider number is MCE326 . Our New York provider number is 0019. Our Massage Therapy CE hours are valid for ABMP, AMTA, and most states.
PLEASE NOTE: We provide the below information about your state as a courtesy, but cannot guarantee its accuracy because laws are continually subject to change. If you have questions about the information we have provided below, please contact your licensing agency directly. Your state board will hold you ultimately responsible for knowing the laws that apply to you. We do not deviate from our posted return and exchange policy if you later determine that a course you enrolled in is not valid for CEs in your jursidiction. You may also visit the NCBTMB nationwide CE requirements chart, by clicking here.
NCBTMB requires that you complete 24 hours of Continuing Education classes every two years. Three hours of the 24 hours must be in ethics. No more than 4 hours of the 24 hours may be in self-care. All NCBTMB CEs can be taken through home study or online courses through the Institute of Somatic Therapy, provider #280672-00.
Contact The Alabama Massage Therapy Board: 660 Adams Ave. #150
Requirements On How To Become A Licensed Massage Therapist In Alabama:
For more information on How to become a Licensed Massage Therapist in Alabama, visit:
Also Check: Massage With Happy Ending Khao San Road
How To Become A Sports Massage Therapist Florala Al
Good luck as you embark on your journey to begin a career as a professional massage therapist. As with all things worth achieving, it will take a lot of hard work and dedication to succeed. You originally came to this website because of your interest in How To Become A Sports Massage Therapist and wanting to get more information on the topic Shortest Massage Therapy Program. However, by following the suggestions contained within this article, you will have an excellent opportunity for success by enrolling in the right massage therapy degree program. And with the right education you will soon become a professional massage therapist servicing the Florala Alabama area.
Other Massage Therapy Locations in Alabama
Massage Education Requirements In Alabama
Applicants for an Alabama massage license are required to complete a minimum of 650 hours of instruction from an accredited school that is approved by the Alabama State Board. Applicants must provide certified transcripts of their education and training. These hours must include:
- 100 hours of anatomy and physiology
- 250 hours of basic massage therapy
- 50 hours of business, hydrotherapy, first aid, CPR, and professional ethics
- 250 hours electives to be determined by the school
You May Like: Air Compression Full Leg Massager
Where Do Massage Therapists Work
Massage therapists work in physician’s offices and hospitals, sports clubs and gyms, spas, resorts, salons, and in franchise offices all over the country. As therapeutic massage becomes more popular, you probably can expect to see massage therapists in even more unlikely places. It seems there is no limit to the places massages therapists can work.
The State Of Alabama Massage Therapist Requirements
Throughout the 52,419 square miles of the Heart of Dixie, approximately 2,008 massage therapists work to help the more than 4 million people in their state find relief from pain, rehabilitation from injuries, and comfort in the midst of stress and anxiety.
With 212,297 people in Birmingham, 199,783 people in Montgomery, and 190,432 people in Mobile, massage therapists who work in Alabama can find an engaged environment to open, continue, or join a massage therapy business.
Don’t Miss: Massage For Arthritis In Feet
Requirements On How To Become A Massage Technician In Delaware:
A. Massage Technician Certification
- You are filing an âinitial applicationâ if you are:
- not licensed by any other jurisdiction, or
- licensed by another jurisdiction but you have not practiced continuously in that jurisdiction for at least two years before applying in Delaware.
- Arrange for the Board office to receive an official transcript sent directly from your massage school or approved program to the Board office.
- The transcript must show that you have completed 300 hours of supervised in-class study as a student in a school of massage/bodywork, or as a student in an approved program of massage or bodywork therapy.
- The school or program of training must include a curriculum of no less than:
- 60 hours of anatomy and physiology
- 140 hours of technique and theory of massage or bodywork therapy
- 75 hours of elective courses in the field of massage therapy
- 25 hours of ethics, law and contraindications.
All Other Requirements for Delaware Massage Technician Certification:
- You must be at least 18 years old before applying for Delaware Certified Massage Technician.
- If you previously applied for a Delaware Certified Massage Technician, it is not necessary to re-submit documents already in possession of the Board office. If you believe that the Board office has any of the documentation listed below, contact the office to confirm.