The State Of Nevada Massage Therapist Requirements
Throughout the 110,567 square miles of the Silver State, approximately 4,624 massage therapists work to help the more than 3 million people in their state find relief from pain, rehabilitation from injuries, and comfort in the midst of stress and anxiety.
With 634,773 people in Las Vegas, 300,116 people in Henderson, and 235,087 people in Paradise, massage therapists who work in Nevada can find an engaged environment to open, continue, or join a massage therapy business.
Requirements To Start A Massage Business In Nevada
To start and own your own massage business in Nevada, you must first understand the rules and laws set in the state.
To begin, be sure to review the Nevada Secretary of States webpage regarding starting a business.
Here you will find business checklists and general information on how to start your very own business.
First, you will need to decide what type of business you would like to own a sole proprietorship, a general partnership or a corporation.
After you have done so, you will need to obtain a tax ID number, find a location to begin your business and name your business.
Minimum Education Requirements For Massage Therapy Programs In Nevada
To become a massage therapist in Nevada, the initial requirement is to be a high school graduate or GED holder. Health and science classes help prepare students for postsecondary education in the field.
It is necessary to enroll in an accredited school with a massage therapy program that the state board has approved. A curriculum must provide 550 or more clock hours of instruction and training. This is to include classes in anatomy and physiology, hygiene and first aid, law and ethics, and massage. There must be a minimum of 25 hours of practice on fellow students or staff members.
Some programs exceed state standards by offering additional courses in massage techniques, business skills, or other subjects. Earning an associates degree generally entails taking general education classes.
Graduates are not yet eligible to practice. They need to apply to the state board for licensure, which involves passing the Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination . The Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards accepts online applications to take the test at a center near a students home.
The board mandates that practitioners obtain license renewals every two years. The first time, they must receive 12 hours of continuing education. For subsequent renewals, the state requires 24 hours.
Also Check: Does Nyship Cover Massage Therapy
Brief Summary Of The Main Highlights
Nevada offers many opportunities to stretch your education and become a successful massage therapist.
Here you will need to meet certain schooling, licensing and also, renewal requirements before you will be granted a massage license.
In this article, you will find all of the information you will need to further your career.
Continue reading to discover all you will need to become a successful massage therapist in Nevada.
How Much Will I Earn
The average annual wage of a massage therapist in Nevada was $54,270 in 2021. This is on the lower side of state earnings, with the average national salary at $53,222. However, massage therapists who work in Las Vegas-Paradise have the opportunity to earn a slightly higher salary, with the average for this city at $54,367 annually.
- Infant Massage Babies are People
- Specialized Intake for Pregnant Clients
- Perinatal Massage Therapy
- 3 Free & Easy Ways to Promote a Massage Practice
- Benny Vaughn on Professional Self-Esteem
- Should You Use a Massage Gun?
- Take These Steps to Make Your Income Dreams a Reality
Recommended Reading: Southeastern Massage School Columbia Sc
Las Vegas Medical Assistant School
Las Vegas Medical Assistant School students learn in a professional medical office where they receive hands-on training in medical assisting.
Students attend weekly classes and complete online lectures and homework during the week.
After the training period, students have to pass the Certified Clinical Medical Assistant exam.
Students who have completed and passed the program will be eligible to take the exams for Certified Phlebotomy Technician and EKG Technician.
The school offers externship in a medical office.
Students work in a medical office for 1 week as part of the program.
Las Vegas Medical Assistant School is a division of Vandelay Education LLC and is licensed and regulated by Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education.
Fees. Tuition is $3,950, if paid in full. Two payment plans are also available.
Enrollment. Applicants need to be at least 18 years of age. If under 18 the school requires written permission from a parent or legal guardian. Prospective students also need a high-school diploma and GED, an up-to-date immunization record, a government-issued ID and a down-payment made before the first day of class.
Healing Mountain Massage Schoolschool Of Massage Therapy & Holistic Health
Healing Mountain School of Massage has been a leader among massage schools for the past twenty years. Healing Mountain embodies the way of the compassionate spirit in that we believe an individual deserves a space to heal. We believe in facilitating growth through creative expression in a healing community & in the opportunity to live with passion while your work reflects your spirit.
We offer massage therapy certification, spa therapy certification, and a holistic health practitioner diploma program at a live day spa in our holistic massage education centers located in the Rocky Mountains of Utah. We also welcome those wanting to learn massage & holistic health from Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico, Nevada, California, Idaho, Wyoming, Montana and elsewhere. We teach Japanese full body massage & thai massage asian bodywork, deep tissue, reflexology, chair massage, reiki energy healing, craniosacral therapy as well as other modalities that help graduates obtain massage jobs with good salaries.
Recommended Reading: Foot Massage Good For Plantar Fasciitis
Medical Skills For Life Institute
Founded in 2005, the Medical Skills for Life Institute is training students who want to build a career in the wellness industry.
The school offers afternoon and evening classes for future medical assistants, phlebotomists and other skilled workers in the medical industry.
Students learn from professionals with years of experience in the field.
Graduates can work in one of tens of thousands of medical and wellness facilities throughout the country.
The school assists students who successfully complete the certificate programs in finding career opportunities.
Fees. Tuition varies by program. Financial Aid is available for students who qualify.
Enrollment. Applicants need a high-school diploma or GED. Prospective students can enroll by filling out a form on the schools website, calling the Admissions Department or 645-7900.
Asher Colleges Las Vegas Campus
Asher Colleges Las Vegas Campus is providing classroom and hands-on training experience for future qualified employers in various industries.
The schools curriculum is designed to combine watching, reading, and hands-on learning.
The school also offers a flexible schedule, supportive instructors and personalized attention.
Asher College is accredited by the Accrediting Council for Continuing Education Training.
Enrollment. Applicants must be at least 18 years of age or have a parent or legal guardian sign the Admissions paperwork on behalf of the student. Applicants need a High School Diploma or equivalent. Prospective students must pass the entrance exam to show proficiency in English. Other requirements vary by program.
Fees. Total costs vary between $4,450 and $28,700, depending on the program.
You May Like: Massage Therapy School Fort Myers
Ready For A Great Career Wed Love To Show You Around Our School
Massage and Bodywork are doing great and the industry is looking for great bodyworkers! Come train with the best to be your best!
We offer a variety of advanced trainings for the currently licensed massage therapist to advance your career.
Great CE Classes New 3-day Quantum Workshop at our sister facility for CEs! See CE page for all our classes and workshops! QUANTUM FLIER 4-22
We offer a range of Workshops: Hot Stone, Soft Tissue Releases, Acupressure, Modern Spa Massage, Aromatherapy & more
SPRING TERM is coming soon! Spring Break begins April 8th and ends April 30th, the first day of class for new students. So act quickly to reserve a spot at the massage table:) We will have tours and enrollments by appointment during break. Leave an Info request or call Lee Thorpe directly at 775-815-5132.
This is the GREAT time to start Massage training! Every week employers call for new bodyworkers! So many great jobs waiting for our graduates.
See the great results of our school MBLEx licensing exam report below!
CE STUDENTS: BACK and going great! Call us for class info or see our CE page.
Why Choose The Bodhi Tree for Your Education?
- Educational Excellence
- Our Grads are sought after for their great skill right from the start!
A TESTIMONIAL FROM A RECENT GRADUATENeed to COMPLETE AN EDUCATION?
Mtsi Nevada Massage Therapy Schools & License Requirements
- You are required to submit 1 current passport size photo of your face and shoulders.
- Because this photo must be taken within 60 days of your renewal date and with a white background.
- To successfully renew your massage license, the state of Nevada requires you to take and obtain a certain amount of continuing education hours.
- Once you have completed a continuing education course, please send the completion certificate to the Board.
- And also, a minimum of 12 continuing education hours is required for the renewal of your massage license.
- Because these hours must be completed within a year after your last renewal.
- And also, if you would like, you are welcome to carry over a maximum of 36 continuing education hours over the span of 3 years.
- So your renewal application, fees and continuing education documentation must be sent to the Board directly at the following address:
Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists1755 E. Plumb Lane Suite 252Reno, NV 89502
4/17/2015 Update: You can now renew your license online as well.
Don’t Miss: Gay Tantric Massage New York
Use A 529 Plan To Offset Rising Education Costs
One of the most sound investments you can make to help pay for your child’s higher education is by using a 529 plan. These funds grow in a tax-free environment, and generally have a 3-5% rate of return. The only catch is that all funds need to be used for higher education, and if not… there are monetary penalties imposed when withdrawn for other uses.
The group of five Nevada 529 plans includes a prepaid tuition plan, an advisor-sold savings plan through Putnam Investments utilizing a multi-manager approach, a direct-sold 529 savings plan featuring Vanguard mutual funds, a direct-sold plan featuring SPDR ETFs and a savings program featuring USAA mutual funds. The prepaid tuition plan has a state residency requirement.
|State Plan Name:|
College Of Southern Nevada
This community college is the states largest public postsecondary school, with career programs in dozens of professions. Massage therapy students attend classes on the campus in Henderson. There are day and evening class schedules.
The certificate curriculum provides training in massage techniques such as Swedish, deep tissue, sports, pregnancy, and infant. Classes also teach Shiatsu, reflexology, manual lymph drainage, trigger point therapy, hydrotherapy, myofascial release, and aromatherapy. Program participants practice their skills on the public in a student clinic.
The school has an open-door policy of admitting high school graduates and non-graduates. Incoming students must take a placement test.
- 6375 W. Charleston Blvd., Las Vegas, Nevada 89146-1164
Also Check: Laryngeal Massage And Myofascial Release
Where Can I Study
The Nevada Board of Massage Therapy provides a list of schools that are NOT approved in Nevada. Make sure the school in which you would like to complete your 550 required hours is not on this list.
Below are two approved schools in Nevada to help you get started on what you may be looking for in a massage therapy education
- Nevada School of Massage Therapy: Accredited by the ACCET, this school allows students to perform more than 200,000 massages per year in the weekend student clinic. Many graduates work at top industry employers and experience career assistance throughout their careers.
- The Bodhi Tree Center for Healing Arts: Designed to allow graduates to be licensed in Nevada, California, and Arizona, this schools 600 hour massage program offers students a unique blend of basic and advanced skills to help them with their professional careers. For five years, 100 percent of their graduates have passed the licensing exam on the first try.
Cqes: Center For Quality Eldercare Services
CQES: Center for Quality Eldercare Services is offering campus and online training for future direct care workers.
CQES is the first Postsecondary School Training Center for becoming a Qualified Direct Care Worker and Personal Care Attendant.
The school is also a state proctor for HCQC Medication Training.
School graduates can be job-ready in 3-6 days.
The school pre-screens for companies that are hiring Personal Care Attendants and Direct Care Workers.
CQES is licensed to operate by The Commission on Postsecondary Education.
Enrollment. Applicants must complete the Pre-Enrollment Application and interview with the Director. Each prospective student should have a high school diploma or equivalent. Applicants who dont have a copy of the diploma may take a brief exam.
Fees. Tuition varies by program.
Recommended Reading: Couples Massage West Palm Beach
Nevada State Board Of Massage Therapy
This agency regulates the practice of massage therapy, reflexology, and structural integration. It assesses the qualifications of prospective massage therapists, issues licenses, and enforces license-renewal and continuing education requirements.
Another duty is establishing criteria for massage therapy school curricula. The board approves educational institutions that comply, and posts a list of those that fall short. It also adopts standards for state certification of massage establishments.
The board investigates complaints, and disciplines practitioners who engage in illegal or unethical behavior. Massage therapists may face fines, license suspensions, or license revocations.
The governor appoints 10 board members. Among them are six licensed massage therapists, including three from Clark County and two from Washoe County. One member is a licensed reflexologist and another is licensed to practice structural integration. One person represents the public. The final member is a non-voting adviser from Clark County with experience as a Las Vegas police officer.
License Nevada Massage Therapy Schools & License Requirements
- Because you are moving from another jurisdiction.
- The state or territory for which you worked will need to complete the Certified Statement from State Licensing Authority form that will be mailed to you along with your application.
- If you would rather have them send a letter stating you are in good standing, that will suffice as well.
- The Board requires you to submit a 2×2 passport size photo of yourself.
- Because this photo must be in colour and printed on photo paper.
- A copy of your current drivers license or alien resident card.
- And also, also you will be required to submit a copy of your Social Security Card as well.
- Lastly, you must submit a copy of your current Massage Therapist License.
Note: Specific personal information, office addresses, fees, payments etc.
And also, may change over time. Although we do our best to keep this site up to date.
So please ensure you contact the state board to obtain the most recent information at the time of your application.
Here is a list of the top massage therapy schools near you.
And also, we have an arrangement with all of them that allow you to request information for FREE.
So please do and take that first step toward a better future.
Recommended Reading: Cultural Competency Training For Massage Therapists
Massage Therapist Education Requirements
Massage therapists must complete Board-recognized massage therapy programs of at least 550 hours. Programs are recognized if they are approved by the Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education or are housed in public colleges in any state. Other programs may be recognized at Board discretion.
The Nevada Board has provided a list of programs around the nation that do not meet requirements and are not approved. Programs may appear on the list because they were denied codes by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork , because they were not in good standing with their regulatory agencies, or because the Nevada Board carried out its own investigation and found them to be lacking.
Out-of-state applicants cannot guarantee that a nonpublic educational program will be accepted even if it does not appear on the list. An applicant who wants recognition for a program that is not approved by the Commission on Postsecondary Education or offered by a state college will need to provide detailed information about the program.
All approved and non-approved programs can be reviewed on the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy website www.massagetherapy.nv.gov
Applicants with California transcripts may require Board review.
The Board notes that core curriculum cannot be completed through online education.
An Amazing Pass Rate For The Mblex Licensing Exam Over 20% Better Than The State Average And The Entire Country
MBLEx School Performance Report for 2021!
2021: Bodhi Tree Center first time Pass Rate: 92.3%! Nevada first time Pass Rate 67.8% National first time Pass Rate 69%
Get in Touch to learn your way into a new career in Complimentary and Alternative Medicine! Talk to Admissions directly: Lee at 775-815-5132 or Leave a message on our school line at 775-884-1145.
Its a great Career of service and human kindness, and at a time when human touch is more important than ever before! Make an Appointment to come visit! Wed love to show you our wonderful school:)
To see if The Bodhi Tree Center is the Massage & Healing Arts School for your educational needs, Request More Info or Call 775-884-1145 to schedule a tour of our school. Thanks for getting in Touch!
Massage ClinicOur beautiful massage clinic features massage and bodywork by the skilled students of our Massage Program. Students in our massage clinic are at various levels in their training. All of our students working in the massage clinic have passed a practical exam in order to gain admittance. Prices for our student massages are $35 for a 1-hour massage. 1 1/2 -hour massages are also available.
Please call 775-884-1145 to schedule a massage.
Recommended Reading: Couples Massage Deals Phoenix Az