What You Need For Apply For A Massage Therapy License
Please complete the following:
- Learn about applying for a license
- A sealed envelope with your official transcript from your Massage Therapy program. Please mail this to the address listed below under “by mail”.
- A 2×2 passport style photo.
- A complete list of your clock hours. This can be done on the application. If your program is noted in Credit Hours, you will need your school to write a complete breakdown of the programs Clock Hours on letter head.
- Two signed letter of reference. One letter must be from an employer in the field, and the other may be from an unrelated person.
- A Copy of the insurance policy declaration page, along with the effective date of coverage.
- Proof that you have passed either the Massage or Bodywork Licensing Exam or the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Message and Bodywork if you will fall deficient of the 300 hour Massage Theory and Technique requirements. Candidates who think they may qualify, please refer to the current Curriculum Guidelines for more information.
- Pay your licensing fee online
Applicants With Criminal Convictions
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor or pleaded guilty or no contest to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire along with your application materials.
Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.
Qualifications For An Arizona Massage Therapy License:
An applicant may qualify for an Arizona massage therapy license by one of the following processes:
1. Regular license
The applicant is seeking licensure based on having graduated from a massage school with a minimum of 700 hours. If graduated from a school outside of Arizona, the applicant has passed the national licensing exam from either the FSMTB or the NCBTMB.
You May Like: Massage Therapist That Come To Your House
The Background Check Process
Applicants must have fingerprint-based criminal background checks carried out by the California Department of Justice and the FBI. Applicants begin by making two copies of the Request for Live Scan Service form. They then take the forms to a Livescan vendor. One form will eventually be sent to CAMTC the other is retained for the applicants records.
Fees will vary by vendor. CAMTC reports that the vendor fee and the background check fees should total $80 to $90. CAMTC refers applicants to the Department of Justice for a list of fingerprinting sites .
Types Of Massage Licence
The revised ME licence fees with effect from 1 April 2020 are reflected in the table below:
HDB shop houses, shopping centres and hotels
HDB shop houses, shopping centres and hotels
Areas away from residential areas, schools, and places of worship.
Nationality of employees
Singapore citizens, permanent residents and Malaysians with valid work passes only
Singapore citizens, permanent residents and any foreign nationality with valid work passes
Singapore citizens, permanent residents and Malaysians with valid work passes only
Minimum establishment floor area
* You must apply for Category 1 or Category 2 licence first before you can apply for a new Category 1 or Category 2 massage establishment.
Also Check: Can I Massage My Belly Fat Away
The Arizona Massage Board Remains Open Monday
To contact staff email:
The staff responds to you by email.
INITIAL APPLICATION – Online Payment
NOTICE TO ALL APPLICANTS:
Pursuant to section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shall limit all occupational regulations to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessary to specifically fulfill a public health, safety or welfare concern. Pursuant to sections 41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, you have the right to petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an action in a court of general jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure compliance with section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes.
Massage Therapy Certification In California
California massage therapists are certified by the California Massage Therapy Council . Certification standards went up in 2015. There is now just one level of credentialing open to new providers, Certified Massage Therapist, or CMT. In order to achieve the credential, a massage therapist must complete an approved educational program, pass an examination, and have an acceptable criminal background check.
Some California massage therapists work under local licenses or permits. The CMT is not a state mandate. However, CAMTC notes that a professional who holds the credential is authorized to work anywhere in the state and will not need to meet additional requirements at the local level . A business license will be required in some cases a license to practice will not.
Recommended Reading: Hand And Stone Massage Weston Fl
Massage Therapy School Accreditations And Approvals
You will need to consider the licensing regulations of at least one state, possibly more. Its important that the program be operating legitimately in the state where its located. Some states have a list of approved programs that includes both in-state and out-of-state schools. Others simply stipulate that the program must be approved in its own jurisdiction.
You may have an easier time getting licensed if your program is nationally accredited. The Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation is a national accrediting agency specifically for the massage therapy profession. However, there are other nationally recognized accrediting agencies that accredit health programs and/or trade schools. Whats key is that the accrediting agency be recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.
Can I Make A Fee Payment After My Application Is Submitted
Yes. Your application will not be processed until your fee payment is received.
Fees can be paid online using the MQA Online Services Portal, or by mailing a check or money order. Fee payments should be mailed to:
Department of Health P.O. Box 6330 Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330
If you have already applied and received a file number, be sure to include that number with any payments you submit.
You May Like: Walk In Massage Louisville Ky
Criminal History Guidelines For Massage Therapy
DISCLAIMER: The Division uses this matrix simply as a starting point in making its licensing or disciplinary decisions, and therefore it is provided only for general informational and guidance purposes. Every applicant and licensee is unique, with individual circumstances that may involve aggravating or mitigating or other factors, including patterns of conduct that may affect any final decision. Please consult your attorney if you have questions.
Becoming A Massage Therapist
Considering a career in massage therapy? The first step is career exploration. You may want to get some experience helping people, perhaps in a volunteer capacity. You may also want to read profiles of massage therapists on sites like the American Massage Therapy Association .
Youll likely want to familiarize yourself with your state massage board even before you enroll in classes this is to ensure that the program you choose will meet licensing or certification requirements.
Don’t Miss: Happy Ending Massage For Women
Do I Need All Supporting Documents Before Submitting My Application
No. Applications submitted with fees will be processed, even if some items are missing.
If additional items are required to complete your application, board staff will provide you with a letter listing what is still needed with instructions on how to request and/or submit the remaining items. If you provided an email address, this letter will be emailed to you. You can also see a list of missing items at any time by checking your application status online using the MQA Online Services Portal.
Incomplete applications will remain open for one year from the date the application is received. Applications which are not completed within one year will be expired.
How To Apply For A License
An application may be purchased online for $20.00.
To obtain the online application you must complete the “Online Application Request”. Upon receipt of the online request and the fee, an online application will be created specifically for the requesting individual. The login and password information as well as the detailed instructions for the application process will be sent to the email address included in the request. You will be able to login to this application as much as you want until you have completed or uploaded all the required information. Use the link below to purchase an online application.
Once you have purchased an online application and have completed all of the required fields, you will submit the application to the Board for review. At this time, the Board may be waiting for additional documentation to arrive from 3rd party sources. This documentation may include, but is not limited to, items such as Moral Character Forms, Massage Therapy School Documentation, State Verifications, etc. You may check the status of your submitted application by clicking on the “Check Application Status” link below.
If you have already created an application online, and would like to continue editing it or inputting additional information, login using the link below.
To check the status of an application that has been completed and submitted to the Board, use the link below.
You May Like: Osaki Massage Chair Keeps Beeping
Process For Approving/denying Applications
We finish final review for approval after a credentialing specialist verifies that the application is fully complete, and complies with requirements in chapter 18.108 RCW and chapter 246-830 WAC. We complete background checks and make sure applicants have submitted required fees. Credentialing supervisors and lead workers have the authority to approve routine applications. The disciplining authority may conduct further review if the credentialing supervisor can’t verify the applicant meets all requirements. We’ll formally notify applicants of a denial. Those applicants may request a hearing to appeal the decision.
Massage Therapy Program Length
You will need to consider the total number of hours in the program. Program length in hours and sometimes months is a factor in the licensing process. 500 hours is enough for licensure in many states, but not all. Two states have set the minimum at 1,000. Many states will allow graduates of 500-hour programs to make up the difference post-graduate, but this can add to the timeframe.
Don’t Miss: Osaki Pro Omni Massage Chair
Board Of Massage Therapy
Due to COVID-19 and for the health and safety of both consumers and staff,
Please observe proper safety protocols when visiting.
Staff continue to telework and remain available during normal hours to meet the needs of the public over the phone and by email . The public is strongly encouraged to continue calling in or utilizing the available online services. For a full listing of DCCAs online services please go to .
- All licenses regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by June 30, every even-numbered year.
|On-time renewals for the licensing period of July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2024
Review Process And Timeline
Once your Application is received at the Board Office, it will be reviewed by Board staff for completeness. When all documentation is complete, your Application will be approved by Board staff or forwarded to the Boardâs License Standards Committee. This committee makes recommendations to the Board. Final action on Applications reviewed by the License Standards Committee is made at a regularly scheduled Board meeting. If the applicant has any criminal history, the process time is longer as the timeframe will be based on the review of the criminal history itself. The Board may request additional information or interview an applicant before issuing a license.
Please do not call the Board office to find out your license processing status. You can check your application status anytime by clicking on the “Check Application Status” link above.
Board staff updates the webpage weekly with the names of new licensees. If you have been issued a license number, it will be on the website, www.bmbt.org, under Verify a License. Once your license number appears on the website you should receive your certificate of licensure within ten to fifteen business days.
It is your responsibility to notify the Board of any change in information occurring after the filing of your Application. You must keep the Board advised of your current mailing address at all times.
An Applicant May Provide One Of The Following As Proof Of Having Established An Arizona Residence:
- A valid Arizona drivers license
- A current Arizona motor vehicle registration
- Proof of filing Arizona income taxes in the most recent tax year
- Arizona voter registration
- Documentation of a mortgage for a primary Arizona residence
- A dated residential rental contract with proof of payment
- Proof of major banking services in Arizona
- Proof of establishment of Arizona utilities
- Proof of enrollment of children in Arizona schools
- Documentation demonstrating a change in permanent address on all pertinent records
- Military Form 2058
Massage School Approval Information
Please note: Any school requesting approval for a massage program or transfer program must submit three copies of its application and supporting documentation. Please see the education requirements for more information.
* Includes the $16 fee to access the University of Washington HEAL-WA health resources website.
Read Also: Train To Be A Sports Massage Therapist
An Applicant May Provide One Of The Following As Evidence Of Authorized Presence In The United States:
Board Of Therapeutic Massage Survey
The Board is interested in your opinion. If you are a currently a provisionally licensed massage therapist, licensed massage therapist, or licensed massage therapy business, please click on the link below and take a few moments to complete a brief survey. Your email address will not be recorded or stored. Thank you for your participation.
Read Also: Panasonic Massage Chair Dealer Locator
Definition Of Practice Of Massage Therapy
The practice of the profession of massage therapy is defined as engaging in applying a scientific system of activity to the muscular structure of the human body by means of stroking, kneading, tapping and vibrating with the hands or vibrators for the purpose of improving muscle tone and circulation.
Massage Therapy Applications And Forms
Communication from the Division: The Division of Professions and Occupations’ primary communication is via email. Please be sure to include your current email address on your application to receive important information about your application status and process.
License Expiration BumpPeriod for New Applicants: All new applicants who are issued a license within 120 days of the upcoming renewal expiration date will be issued a license with the next expiration date.
License Renewal Information: All Massage Therapist licenses expire on December 31st of even-numbered years. There is a two month renewal grace period after the expiration date with a $15 late fee added. View your expiration date on your online account.
Recommended Reading: Massage For Pelvic Floor Dysfunction
Making The Most Of Your Student Days
Your training will include more than just massage theory and application. You will also have science coursework. Still, a massage therapy program may be short many last only six months. Consequently, youll want to take steps toward licensing and career building as early as your student days. Your clinical experiences are chances to make contacts in the professional world as well as fulfill requirements. Some states allow, and even require, you to carry out services in a student clinic. You may also have the opportunity to perform services at volunteer events. Again, this depends on your jurisdiction states often have very specific rules about what you can and cannot do as a student.
If you will be performing massage on the public, you will likely need to carry liability insurance. You may get this by joining a professional association. At the student level, the costs may be low. You may have other perks, like study tools or even the chance to select a mentor.
In most cases, you will be required to take a licensing examination. If your state is one of the many that uses the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam, or MBLEX, you may be approved to test as early as your student days. However, you will need to affirm that you have had appropriate training.
You may preview the examination content by visiting the website of the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards . The candidate handbook includes a list of suggested massage texts.
Applicants Licensed In Another Jurisdiction
If you are licensed in another state, country or territory based on specific education and examination requirements, and have practiced massage therapy in that state, country or territory for at least two years, you may be eligible for licensure by endorsement.
If you have been licensed and practiced 2 – 4 years in another state, country or territory, you must:
*One year of experience is defined as 52 weeks in which massage therapy is practiced an average of 12 hours each week.
Read Also: Hand And Stone Massage Severna Park Md