Thursday, June 13, 2024

Alabama Board Of Massage Therapy

Massage Therapy Instructor Licensing

Alabama Priest Accused Of Sexual Harassment By Massage Therapist On Board Carnival Cruise Ship

In order to receive adjunct licensing as a massage instructor, a licensed massage therapist must document two years of experience.

There is a separate application form for massage therapy instructor. It can be downloaded from the Board website . A $10 fee will be assessed. Applicants are asked to familiarize themselves with Section 34-43-20 of state code.

Northeast Alabama Community College

2736

Massage therapy students at his small school in Rainsville take the following courses: Introduction to Therapeutic Massage, Therapeutic Massage Lab, Anatomy and Physiology, Musculoskeletal and Kinesiology, Therapeutic Massage Supervised Clinic, Business and Marketing Plans, Therapeutic Massage for Special Populations, and Pathology.

Those wishing to earn an associate in applied science degree in salon and spa management, a 69- to 72-credit-hour program, also study English humanities and fine arts history, social, and behavioral sciences and natural sciences and mathematics. In addition, there are three technical core courses and 38 credit hours of program option classes.

  • 138 Highway 35, Rainsville, Alabama 35986
  • https://www.nacc.edu

Massage Therapy Schools In Alabama

Note: The following information is current as of 2018 and I try to keep it as up to date as possible.

Trying to find an accredited massage school to attend in Alabama? In this article Ill be giving a brief overview of some the best massage schools in Alabama.

There are 20 massage schools in the state of Alabama and though I wont go through every school I will show you where to find them all.

But first, I want to go over the employment statistics for massage therapist in Alabama and then Ill go right into the schools you can attend.

There are 530 registered massage therapists in Alabama, but not all of those are practicing. With a population of 4.875 million you can see there is a lot of opportunity to have a successful massage practice.

Though the opportunity is ripe and Alabama is favorable to massage businesses the income is slightly lower than the national average by about $5000, but right on par with the median household income for the state.

With the right mindset and tools it would be well within anyone’s reach to surpass the status quo and becoming a professional massage therapist is a great field to pursue.

That said lets take a look at some of the massage schools in Alabama, after I will cover in detail all of the licensing requirements.

Massage Schools in Alabama

Find all approved schools on the Alabama Board of Massage Therapy website here.

What You Should Know

Alabama Massage Schooling Requirements

Alabama Board of Massage Therapy

Recommended Reading: Cozzia Massage Chair For Sale

Massage Insurance State Requirements Faqs

Massage therapists across the United States use healing therapies to bring about true benefits for the patients under their care. But even for the most experienced massage therapists giving their patients an incredible level of care – accidents can, and do, happen. Its important to understand the many different requirements that can exist for massage therapist licensure as well as massage insurance in the state where youre practicing. Crossing state lines can mean huge differences in the requirements placed on therapists. Read on as we go over some of the more frequently asked questions from therapists across these United States.

Can you be a massage therapist without massage insurance?

Massage therapist license requirements vary significantly by state. Some states do require massage therapists to carry professional liability insurance in order to obtain/renew their licenses. While not every state requires liability insurance, it is typically far cheaper to carry comprehensive massage liability insurance than to pay the costs associated with a legal claim.

An event as simple as a patient accidentally rolling off your massage table can give rise to a claim. Under Massage Magazine Insurance Plus coverage, this event would be fully covered up to $2 Million per occurrence under the General Liability provisions of the policy.

What are the massage license guidelines for California?

Which states have massage license reciprocity?

How do I get a massage license in my state?

Massage Education Requirements In Alabama

Alabama Board Of Massage Therapy

Applicants for an Alabama massage license are required to complete a minimum of 650 hours of instruction from an accredited school that is approved by the Alabama State Board. Applicants must provide certified transcripts of their education and training. These hours must include:

  • 100 hours of anatomy and physiology
  • 250 hours of basic massage therapy
  • 50 hours of business, hydrotherapy, first aid, CPR, and professional ethics
  • 250 hours electives to be determined by the school

Also Check: Benefits Of Hot Stone Massage On Legs

Southern Union State Community College

4828

The massage therapy program here, on the schools campus in Opelika, entails three semesters of evening classes . The curriculum features classroom lectures, hands-on lab work, clinical sessions, and outreach opportunities.

In their first course, Introduction to Therapeutic Massage, students receive instruction in Swedish massage, hot and cold therapies, stretching, and other techniques. They go on to study Anatomy and Physiology, Musculoskeletal and Kinesiology, Business and Marketing Plans, Therapeutic Massage for Special Populations, and Pathology.

  • 750 Roberts St, Wadley, Alabama 36276
  • http://www.suscc.edu

The projected job growth rate in this field from 2016-2026 in Alabama is 16.77 percent significantly less than the national average of 26 percent, but still much better than most other professions.

The number of positions for massage therapists in the state is expected to increase from 660 to 770 during the decade. The city of Huntsville offers the most opportunities, but employers in Mobile and Montgomery offer higher wages.

The median pay statewide is more than $34,000 annually, or nearly $17 per hour. The top 10 percent of earners make in excess of $49,000 a year, or almost $24 an hour while the bottom 10 percent take home about $18,000 annually, or close to $9 per hour. Nationwide, yearly salaries range from a bit more than $20,000 to over $77,000.

Life Can Be Unpredictable

In the hands-on profession of massage therapy, unpredictable events can cause unexpected and problematic issues. Accidents or miscommunication can lead to significant claims, which is why a number of states require massage practitioners to have coverage.

For one low flat fee, massage therapists can receive the quality, comprehensive coverage they deserve, avoiding the costly impact that a lawsuit can bring. Even the most careful massage therapists can make a mistake, or encounter one of those hard-to-please clients that finds fault in a treatment, even if nothing really went wrong. Learn more about what it takes in each state to become a licensed massage therapists and any additional liability insurance requirements for business owners or individual practitioners. Take a quick look at policy details and benefits.

Don’t Miss: Ootori Zero Gravity Massage Chair

Select Your State On The Map Below Or

  • At least 18 years old
  • Has never knowingly performed massage therapy at a sexually-oriented business
  • Has never plead no contest to crimes pertaining to prostitution or sexual offense within three years prior to license application

Insurance Requirements

  • Personal Liability Coverage

Training

  • Hold and maintain a current AL license
  • Submit application form and fee
  • Show proof of two years of work experience

Renewal

Note: This information has been gathered from external sources and is for informational purposes. Please check with your local regulations to verify your state and local requirements.

Get Professional Insurance With Mmip

fsmtb
  • Professional & General Liability Coverage
  • Instant Coverage & Proof of Insurance
  • FREE Professional Website
  • At least 18 years old
  • Has a current CPR certification
  • Submit fingerprints
  • Alaska does not require liability protection in order to become an LMT

Training

  • 500 hours of in-class supervised instruction and clinical work from a board-approved massage school or completion of a board-approved apprenticeship program

Instructor License

  • Submit new fingerprints by mail

Reciprocity

Email:

Note: This information has been gathered from external sources and is for informational purposes. Please check with your local regulations to verify your state and local requirements.

Also Check: North Texas School Of Swedish Massage

Gadsden State Community College

4979

Located in the city of the same name, GSCC has a short-term certificate program in massage therapy. It entails 720 contact hours of study.

Among the courses are Anatomy and Physiology, Kinesiology, Business and Marketing Plans, Massage for Special Populations, and Pathology. Some of the classes are available online, either entirely or in a hybrid form that involves a few campus visits each semester. Students also must show up for massage labs, supervised clinics, and lectures.

  • 1001 George Wallace Dr, Gadsden, Alabama 35903
  • http://www.gadsdenstate.edu

Alabama Continuing Education Requirements

Please understand that massage laws change frequently and vary from state to state. We will try to provide you with the most current information possible.

It is our understanding that currently, Alabama therapists must complete 16 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal based on the date of initial licensure. We are an Alabama approved provider so you can use any of our courses for your license renewal.

You can verify this information or contact the state of Alabama with further questions by visiting the Alabama Board of Massage.

Please note that all of our courses can be used for NCBTMB recertification, our approved provider number is 409296-00. You may also use any of our CE courses for renewal with organizations such as the AMTA and ABMP .

You May Like: How To Become A Massage Therapist In Missouri

Our Massage Therapy Ce Courses Approved For Alabama

Every massage therapist licensed in the state of Alabama must complete 16 hours of continuing education within 24 months prior to your renewal date.

As an approved continuing education provider, the Alabama Board of Massage will accept all of our home-study courses for massage therapy to satisfy the 16-hour requirement. Therefore, you may take all 16 hours of continuing education online here.

For Additional Information

If you have questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements, we suggest contacting the Alabama Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Alabama Board is 420-7233 or visit their website at http://www.almtbd.alabama.gov .

Disclaimer: Please note that we provide this information as a courtesy, but do not guarantee its accuracy because laws are continually subject to change. Your State Board will hold you ultimately responsible for knowing the laws that apply to you. Please contact your State Board with any questions about your license.

George C Wallace State Community College

Alabama Board Of Massage Therapy

5301

Massage therapy students at this school have two options: a short-term certificate program and an associates degree in salon and spa management.

Courses that make up the 29 credit hours in the certificate program include Therapeutic Massage Lab, Anatomy and Physiology, Musculoskeletal and Kinesiology, Therapeutic Massage Supervised Clinical, Foundations of Therapeutic Massage, Business and Marketing Plans, Therapeutic Massage for Special Populations, and Musculoskeletal and Kinesiology.

Students seeking the associates degree must take additional classes concerning spa techniques and practices, cosmetology, hair and facial treatments, bacteriology and sanitation, English composition, career and personal development, and other subjects.

  • 801 Main St NW, Hanceville, Alabama 35077-2000
  • http://www.wallacestate.edu

You May Like: Do Massage Therapists Make Good Money

Popular Articles
Related news