Ce Course Requirements For State License Renewal
Part of your board certification renewal includes renewing your state license, and some states are pickier than the NCBTMB on what types of courses will count. Other states make no specifications at all.
For example, to renew a license in Tennessee, you must complete 24 hours of CEs every two years. Of those 24 hours, two must be for courses in Tennessee law and regulation, and two more must be on massage business practice such as ethics and substance abuse.
Massage Therapy Credential Requirements Vary By State
Because of the recent changes to practice standards, there is no federal regulation of massage therapy licensure. Rather, each state can outline the requirements for massage therapy licensing and continuing education. This interactive map is a handy tool for finding your states requirements .
In fact, some states do not regulate massage therapy at all. As of this writing, Kansas, Minnesota, and Wyoming have yet to establish statewide requirements for massage therapists. However, local governments in these states may regulate massage therapy at the county or city level, so be sure to check before you start your practice there.
For the majority of other states, however, to be a licensed massage therapist means not only accumulating a stringent set of classwork hours and passing a licensing exam, but also regularly renewing your license with continuing education.
Whats The Difference Between A Massage Therapy License And Board
Most states require a license, but board-certification is voluntary. A Licensed Massage Therapist is considered an entry-level professional in many states, whereas a Board-Certified Therapist in Massage and Bodywork holds the highest credentials.
Here are the basic differences:
|annually, biennially, triennially, or never|
|Board-Certified||every two years|
You May Like: Somerset School Of Massage Therapy
Best Massage Ce Provider
The quality of a MedBridge CE course is top-notch. MedBridge films their online content with high-definition video, including multiple camera angles and 3D animations. When learning about the body and massage techniques, this attention to detail makes a huge difference on the quality of the course.
Additionally, MedBridge courses are taught by experts in the industry. Many include patient demonstrations, even in a live setting.
Whatever the topic for your online continuing education course, MedBridge has you covered. From tax basics to thai massage, MedBridge courses deliver quality content designed for optimal online learning.
For a special discount on MedBridge Massage subscription, click the link below.
This article was written by Naomi Benecasa, a cellist with a Bachelors in Music Performance and a Masters in Music Psychology. Fascinated by fitness and fermentation, she provides copywriting and editing services for PTProgress from her home in New York.
What Do You Need To Become A Massage Therapist
In New Jersey, massage therapists will need to have completed an approved course of study thats accredited or approved by one of the following agencies: the NJ Department of Education, the NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development, or the NJ Commission on Higher Education. An applicant will need at least 500 hours completed by an accredited program and then pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination offered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards . The State of New Jersey also requires proof of massage therapy liability insurance coverage.
Recommended Reading: Does Massaging Stomach Help Lose Fat
How To Complete Massage Ceus: Formats
There are three general formats for massage continuing education courses: live class, live webinar, or online course.
Given recent events, these latter two formats have lately become much more in-demand however, some states limit how many online CEs can count towards license renewal.
For example, to renew a license in Delaware, you must complete 24 hours of CEs every two years. Only 9 of these hours may be online specifically ethics and elective courses. The remaining 15 hours must be from live classes.
To complicate it further, Floridas state board has different requirements for CEs depending on whether this is your first license renewal. For your initial license renewal, youd need to complete 2 hours on medical error prevention as well as 24 hours of CEs. For your following renewals, the requirements are more specific: professional ethics, human trafficking, Florida law, and medical error prevention constitute 7 of your required 25 CEs, 12 of which must be in-person.
The bottom line? Check with your state board. If you need to renew a license and a board-certification, seek out courses that will fulfill both sets of requirements.
Happy Employers Share Their Experiences With Our Massage School Graduates
My hiring experience with Body in Mind has been Excellent to say the least. Mary fully prepares her students for both hands on as well as State testing requirements! I look forward to meeting her future students and providing them with a future workplace where they can thrive and grow their careers!!
Monmouth County Spa Owner
I have been the Hiring Manager for 2 local Ocean County Massage Franchise Locations for the last 6 years and have interviewed many Licensed Therapists that have graduated from Body In Mind. The greatest thing Ive seen out of the graduates is how well rounded and educated they are. The curriculum certainly sets them up for success right out of school.
- 1837 B Hooper Avenue, Toms River NJ 08753
Don’t Miss: Petra Massage And Weight Loss
Don’t Let These Stand In Your Way:
01 – I can’t afford tuition
There are many options available to help you offset tuition.
02 – I don’t have the time
You can get your certification in as little as 6 months.
03 – Does it pay enough
Let us help guide you on the right modalities to earn more.
04 – I’m not sure I can do it
We offer coaching and mentoring to support along the way.
Does Homeceu Report My Continuing Education To My Professional Association Or State Board
Some accrediting bodies require that we send reports on individual learners, listing unique identifiers, test scores, hours taken, etc. Other accrediting agencies require the student to keep their continuing education data themselves, and only spot check on random audits for actual course completion.
Read Also: Massage Therapy School Nashville Tn
Learn From The Best Itm Wins Excellence In Education Award
Were honored to be one of only six massage therapy schools nationwide to be chosen for an Excellence in Education Award from Massage Envy. Massage Envy is the leading provider of therapeutic massage in the United States, and the largest employer of massage therapists in the country. According to Massage Envys selection criteria, ITM has demonstrated outstanding results in the following areas:
Excellent curriculum and outstanding connections
High level of student and graduate support
Recognition from accrediting agencies and industry associations
ITM ensures grads have the necessary training for rewarding careers
Start Your Journey to a Rewarding New CareerDownload our FREE Program Overview Guide. Learn about the programs offered to become a Licensed Massage Therapist in as little as 7 months!
We are proud to be Innovators in Therapeutic Massage Education
Were committed to the highest standards of excellence.
Involvement in professional associations supports ongoing professional development
Get an overview of the different degrees and certifications ITM offers
How To Find Providers Of Massage Ces
For board-certification, all 24 of your CEs must come from NCBTMB-approved providers. Depending on your state, a certain number of your total CEs may also fall under this restriction. The best way to earn usable CEs is to find NCBTMB-approved providers.
AMTA: The American Massage Therapy Association is a network of massage therapy professionals. Besides a directory of Massage Therapy schools, practitioners, and job postings, AMTA offers 80+ Continuing Education courses online. Members can access courses at a 40% discount, and some courses are free.
MassageCeu.com: Panda Massage CEU is another board-certified Continuing Education provider. Approved for license renewal in Florida, New York, Texas, and Louisiana, some of Pandas courses are state-specific. However, all are approved for NCBTMB CEs and are administered online. Prices per credit hour range from $7 for bundles to $8.50 for a la carte.
MedBridgeMassage: A leading provider of Continuing Education courses, MedBridge offers on-demand courses and live webinars that are NCBTMB-approved. With topics ranging from marketing strategies to patient conditions, MedBridge Massage is the perfect resource for the massage therapist looking to grow their business, refine their skills, or challenge their practice.
Nj Massage All Access Pass
- Over 130+ hours of live and on-demand, hands-on webinars taught by industry experts
- All your required courses in one convenient place
- Multiple learning formats to fit your needs
About this membership:Whats inside:
- Over 100+ hours of live hands-on webinars
- Access to 20+ hours of video content taught by industry experts
- Learn at your own pace with unlimited 24/7 course access via desktop or mobile, including required courses
- Exclusive members-only content via the Elite Learning Resource Center
- Dont like a course? Drop it and pick another. Try as many courses as you like with no risk!
- Get access to expert academic advisors and expedited service through the Members Hotline
- Track your hours and easily print or manage your course certificates in your Student Dashboard
How Do I Become A Massage Therapist In New Jersey
If youre ready to move into your career as a massage therapist in New Jersey, you must register with the New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy. The registration fee is $60 or $120, depending on when you are eligible. Once you are registered, you must receive licensure by the Board. If you do not register, you will be working illegally and can receive a fine.
In order to receive this license, you must complete a minimum of 500 hours from an approved massage therapy program or be certified by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.
You can find application request forms on their website.
Don’t Miss: Deep Tissue Massage Providence Ri
Our Massage Therapy Ce Courses Approved For New Jersey
Alaska Massage therapy license requirements vary from state to state and the regulations change over time. New Jersey requires massage therapists complete 20 CE hours every two years for license renewal. During COVID-19, you may take all 20 hours of continuing education online.
For Additional Information
If you have questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements, we suggest contacting the New Jersey Board of Massage Therapy directly. Their email address is or visit their website at
Disclaimer: Please note that we provide this information as a courtesy, but do not guarantee its accuracy because laws are continually subject to change. Your State Board will hold you ultimately responsible for knowing the laws that apply to you. Please contact your State Board with any questions about your license.
Whats The Quickest Massage Therapy License Nj Provides
There isnt a fast pass” option for massage therapy licensing in NJ unless you already are licensed in a different state and can get approved for reciprocity. Otherwise, all applicants will still need to complete the 500 hours of education from an approved education provider, pass the MBLEx and be able to provide proof of massage therapy insurance before applying. Now, many massage education programs today are set up with self-paced online sections which means you could put in more work and get through these faster, but youll still need to be sure youre meeting all the requirements, such as 100 hours of clinical experience.
Recommended Reading: Center For Massage Therapy Ce
What Are The New Jersey Massage Therapy License Requirements
In general, an applicant wanting to apply for an initial massage license in the State of New Jersey is going to need 500 hours of education from an approved provider, proof of having liability insurance, and proof theyve passed either the MBLEx or the NCBTMB massage exam. When you go to apply for an NJ massage license, youll need a notary for your signature, the correct filing fees, transcripts, a passport-style photograph, and other requirements depending on your background. As far as continuing education, massage therapists will need to pay the renewal fee and complete at least 20 hours every two years from an approved massage education provider.
Corrective Exercise: Optimize The Nervous System For Complete Functional Restoration
The Central NervousSystem is our communication network, one that can change and adapt at anyage, and it is imperative to address impairments, lifestyle, and somatosensoryfactors for optimal neural reprogramming. We need to reprogram the CNS for completefunctional restoration, optimal performance, and most importantly, injuryprevention. The brains control center is dependent on the proper input. Whendysfunction exists, the CNS receives poor proprioceptive input and accessesinefficient information. By addressing the dysfunctional movement at their rootin the motor control center, where the patterns are stored, we can trulyenhance motor learning and optimize client outcomes. Furthermore, a scientificand systematic approach to retraining the nervous system encompassingappropriate corrective strategies and sound movement-based training willcontribute to fast and effective changes in motor control. This coursediscusses corrective exercises, which are those exercises done by an individualin order to reprogram the neuromuscular system from dysfunctional, tofunctional movement. These exercises are used to relieve pain, rehabilitateinjury, and prevent injury. Everyone has their own story and has developedtheir own compensations over time, which is why corrective exercise isindividualized.Presentedby H
Evidenced-Inspired Approaches to Pelvic Pain
Recommended Reading: Arizona Massage Therapy License Requirements
Secure & Competent Support
Affordable prices do not have to come at a cost we offer customer support to help you.
We offer Monday through Friday phone support. We also respond to emails and support tickets outside of these hours. With us, everything is secure, as we do not store any credit card information, cannot see your passwords , and everything on our website is encrypted with an SSL certificate using SHA-2 256 bit encryption.
Courses Researched and Written by Massage Therapists & Educators. Get started today!
Here at CE Massage, we make sure our courses meet the demanding needs of massage therapists with updated topics and interesting learning material. We genuinely love the massage profession!
What Are The Licensing Requirements To Be A Massage Therapist
Licensing requirements vary by state, and a few states have no licensure. To obtain a license, most states require a set number of supervised classwork hours, from 500-1000. You may also need to complete a CPR or Ethics course and pass the MBLEx . Note that if you live in Hawaii or New York, youll need to pass the state-specific licensing exam.
Meanwhile, massage therapists in Vermont dont need a license, but they do need to be Registered. And in place of a license, California offers massage therapists a Certificate for massage therapy practice.
You May Like: How Much Is Massage Therapy Insurance
How To Become A Board
Besides completing any state requirements for licensure, to become a board-certified massage therapist you must meet a few additional requirements. Unlike the state requirements, however, these steps are uniform throughout the US.
Steps to becoming board-certified:
- Graduate from an NCBTMB-Assigned School
- Pass the Board Certification Exam
- Pass a criminal background check
- Obtain massage therapy state license
- Apply for Board Certification
- Agree to uphold NCBTMBs Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics
Because of these extra steps, such as a criminal background check and the code of ethics, a board-certified massage therapist is better vetted than one that is simply licensed. Board certification is a great option for massage therapists who live in a state without massage therapy regulation, or for LMTs who want to set themselves apart and advance their practice.
Besides the extra credentials, being a BCTMB means joining a community of other massage therapy professionals across the nation. Youll have access to great resources and discounts, such as a free account and swipe reader from Square, a free website on which to advertise your practice, and free access to CEbroker to track and report your CEs.
New Jersey Massage Therapy Continuing Education
State Board: New Jersey Board of Massage and BodyworkCEs Required: 20/2yrs 2 hrs ethics requiredRequired Qualifications: Approved by NCBTMB or AMTAAcceptable CE: Not notedUnacceptable CE: Not notedEntity Liable for Approving CE for State: NCBTMB, NCCAOM, AMTA, AOBTA, ABMP, ANCC, APTA, FSMTB, IASI,AMA, The Rolf Foundation, State BoardCEs Allowed Online: 6Mandatory Number of Hands-on CEs: Not notedState Board Website:
Also Check: Massage Therapist Jobs Knoxville Tn
Where Can You Find The Best Massage Therapy School Nj Has To Offer
In order to apply for a massage license in NJ, you have to complete a course of study thats approved by one of the following state agencies: the New Jersey Department of Education, the New Jersey Department Labor and Workforce Development, or the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education. Theres also the possibility of meeting this requirement through an agency from a different state that has certification requirements similar to those of the three agencies listed above. So, finding the best massage therapy school in NJ should always start with looking at accredited programs.
Largest Selection Of Massage Therapy Continuing Education Courses
Choose from the largest massage therapy continuing education course library on the web with 145+ home study massage CEU courses. The Institute is approved by the NCBTMB as a CE Approved Provider. Many of our CE courses are also accepted by ABMP, AMTA, and most state boards. All courses come with our 90-day 100% Money Back Guarantee. Youre guaranteed to find massage therapy courses that will expand your skills, meet your needs, and pique your interests.
Don’t Miss: Office Space For Massage Therapist
What Is An Unlimited Subscription
Our unlimited subscriptions allow you to access and complete as many courses as you would like during your annual membership term. You will have access to all approved courses for your state and license as well as clinical resources, such as AssessmentPRO. Any courses completed during your membership term will remain within your account for LIFE – allowing you to access both the course materials and your certificates of completion at any time.
What Our Students are Saying:
Have a question? Call us at 1-800-554-2387! Were here to help!