Monday, February 19, 2024

Mississippi State Board Of Massage Therapy

Massage Therapist Educational Requirements

Requirements to become a licensed massage therapist (LMT) in New York

Mississippi requires a minimum 700 hours of education and training. The student will need at least 600 hours of academic coursework and at least 100 hours of supervised practice in a student clinic.

The instructional hours are to be distributed as follows:

Study of the human body is to comprise at least 200 hours. There must be at least 20 hours devoted to each of the following: anatomy, physiology, neurology, myology/ kinesiology, and pathology pathology coursework is to include medical terminology. The other 100 hours of body systems study may be distributed among the required content areas in any manner.

Massage therapy theory and practicum are together to comprise at least 200 hours. At least 100 of these hours are to consist of demonstration and supervised practice demonstration and practice is to include client evaluation, draping, and range-of-motion as well as specific massage techniques identified by the Board, for example, kneading, stroking, percussion, vibration, and use of hand-held tools. At least 20 combined hours are to cover massage therapy history, indications, contraindications and benefits. Also included in this content area are 10 hours of study in legality and ethics this is to include Mississippi massage therapy law.

Allied modalities are to comprise at least 200 hours. The following content must be included:

Educational standards are described in Rule 4.2 of Board Rules and Regulations .

Other Requirements: First Aid And Cpr Certifications

The applicant must hold current first aid and CPR certifications. Certification may be granted by the American Heart Association, American Red Cross, or American Safety and Health Institute.

Mississippi requires background checks carried out by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety and the FBI. Background checks are carried out in conjunction with the Mississippi State Law Exam. Massage therapy graduates pay the $36 background check fee when they register for the jurisprudence examination.

Massage Education Requirements In Mississippi

Applicants for a massage license in Mississippi are required to complete at least of 600 hours of supervised classroom instruction, and at least 100 hours of student clinic from an approved school. Students must achieve minimum grade of C for every course. No approved massage program will consist of more than 40 clock hours of instruction per week. The following curriculum requirements are the minimum instructional hours in each content area that an approved school may have:

  • 200 hours in massage theory and application, including:
  • 10 hours of massage law and ethics
  • 20 hours of history, benefits, indications and contraindications
  • 100 hours of massage demonstration and supervised practice
  • 200 hours of science of the human body, including:
  • 20 hours of anatomy, including all body systems
  • 20 hours of physiology, including all body systems
  • 20 hours of myology or kinesiology
  • 20 hours of neurology
  • 20 hours of pathology, including medical terminology
  • 100 hours to expand on any of the previous 5 topics
  • 200 hours in allied modalities including:
  • 7 hours of Eastern, Western and European theory and methods
  • 8 hours of CPR and first aid
  • 10 hours of charting and documentation
  • 25 hours of hydrotherapy and infrared heat
  • 20 hours of referral methods
  • 130 hours to expand on any of the previous 5 content areas.
  • 100 hours of supervised student clinic, which must include at least 1-hour massage therapy sessions.
  • Read Also: Mb Series Massage Chair Reviews

    Mississippi State Board Of Massage Offers New Online Licensing Service

    Application replaces paper-based processes with secure, mobile-ready system

    JACKSON, Miss.—-The Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy is pleased to announce the launch of the new Online Registration Application. This new, mobile-optimized application provides a quick and secure way for licensed massage therapist to purchase replacement licenses, additional location certificates, and mobile/wallet therapist cards.

    The Board is excited about launching this new system, said Yvonne Laird, executive director of MSBMT. We are glad to be able to offer our users an easy and convenient way to interact with us. This service will enable our licensed massage therapists to make these purchases from any location, at any time of day.

    The Registration Portal will now allow licensed massage therapists to take care of their purchases quickly and easily online, instead of following the traditional paper form or in-person process. The streamlining of this new online service brings many efficiencies to both the massage professionals, and the Board. The MSBMT application joins over 100 convenient services created for the state of Mississippi through its partnership with Mississippi Interactive, which began in 2010.

    Other Information

    How Much Will I Earn

    Search

    The average annual wage of a massage therapist in Mississippi was $46,303 in 2021. This is on the lower side of state earnings, with the average national salary at $53,222. However, massage therapists who work in Gulfport-Biloxi have the opportunity to earn a slightly higher salary, with the average for this city at $46,798 annually.

    • The MASSAGE Magazine Interview: Diane Matkowski
    • Emotional Energy Maintenance
    • Personalized Marketing: Dont Make Customers Wonder Who You Are
    • Build a Better Business in 2022
    • The Best-Fit Client

    Recommended Reading: Massage Vancouver Washington Mill Plain

    How Do I Get My Massage Therapy License In Georgia

    For a GA massage license lookup, the whole program must consist of minimum 500 hours of the supervised course and hands-on instruction. That is to say during the class the instructor should be physically on-site according to the educational requirement. Right after finishing the course contact with your massage program and have an official school transcript sent to the massage Board. The transcript, in its turn, must be original, certified or notarized, be on school or program letterhead. It should contain the name, the contact information of the school or program certifying the document. Importantly, the Board will accept transcripts only those that have been marked with clock hours. The transcript must involve your name, date of birth and also the whole course dates. Get ready to mail the transcript document directly to:

    Georgia Board of Massage Therapy237 Coliseum DriveMacon, Georgia 31217-3858

    How Many Hours Do You Need To Get Your Lpc In Georgia

    Counselors in Georgia are known as Licensed Professional Counselors . To become a professional counselor, you must earn a masters degree in a counseling sphere or program associated with psychology. The period of the education for Georgia LPC depends on the counseling degree you are going to complete.

    For Masters Degree the required period is 4 years with at least two years under the supervision of an LPC. For Masters Degree in Psychology the period is the same and it can be supervised by a licensed psychologist, as well.

    Don’t Miss: Do Massage Therapists Make Good Money

    How Do I Verify A Massage Therapist License In Georgia

    The final essential step after getting a massage therapist license is to have it verified in the state of Georgia. To do this you need to collect all the educational documentation to send it to the Georgia Board that takes responsibility for the verification fulfillment. They must certify translations proving the course completion by the applicant including his/her name and contact number. In addition, the credential evaluation report must be approved and include the verification of the educational transcript. The letter is to show the massage therapy education being licensed, recognized or verified by a government or country. You will also need to have your exams passage verified.

    In the end, your full educational path, where you have satisfied all the requirements to become a licensed massage therapist will play a significant role in your job career.

    Where Can I Study

    Massage Therapy Schools in Connecticut – Requirements

    The Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy provides a list of approved schools where future LMTs can complete their 700 required hours.

    Below are two approved schools in Mississippi to help you get started on what you may be looking for in a massage therapy education.

    • Antonelli College: Students at this school will gain hands-on experience learning therapeutic massage techniques. Some of these techniques include Swedish massage, sports massage, hydrotherapy, and more. Upon graduation, students are qualified for opportunities in clinics, private offices, fitness centers, spas, and more.
    • Healing Touch Career College: With small classes offered during the day and at night, affordable costs and short-term programs, this school promises to provide educational programs of high ethical and professional standards, provide experienced qualified faculty who enhance student achievement, and provide student and career services that contribute to the student success and future employment.

    Other education options include Blue Cliff College and Waldrip Center for Therapeutic Massage.

    Don’t Miss: Hand And Stone Massage Membership Cost

    Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Mississippi State Board Of Massage Therapy

    Where are Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapys headquarters?

    Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapys headquarters are in PO Box 20, Morton, Mississippi, 39117, United States

    What is Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapys phone number?

    Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapys phone number is 732-6038

    What is Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapys official website?

    Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapys official website is //www.msbmt.ms.gov

    How many employees are working in Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy?

    Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy has 33 employees

    Mississippi Massage Liability Insurance Guidelines

    Becoming a Massage Therapist in the State of Mississippi

    Step 1. Education

    There are several schools you can attend to get your education in massage therapy. Once you choose a school, you will have to attend and complete the program according the rules and regulations.

    Step 2. Exam

    After you complete your education, you will need to fill out the application for The Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy. Just remember that 700 hours in a training program is required in the state of Mississippi before you can continue on. Once you do this, you will need to take the official exam for the state, which will require a criminal history check and FBI history check as well. If these are passed, the license will be mailed to you. The cost of the license is $200 for individuals who live in the state and $300 for those who are from out-of-state, as well as a $50 application fee.

    Step 3. Licensing and Renewal

    After obtaining your license, you must renew it every 2 years, for a $200 fee, which needs to be done at least 30 days prior to expiration. This will ensure that you are able to continue working without any problems.

    Do You Need Liability Insurance?

    The following are Mississippi state resources, including some employment statistics, to help you determine if being a massage therapist is right for you:

    Don’t Miss: Synca Kagra 4d Massage Chair Reviews

    How To Become A Masseuse In Mississippi

    • 600 education hours are required to become licensed.
    • You must renew your license every 2 years.
    • 24 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
    • The average salary for massage therapists in Mississippi is $31,980 . This is lower than the national average of $42,820 .
    • There is a predicted 13% job increase between 2016-2026 for massage therapists. This is lower than the expected national growth of 22%.

    Massage therapy is often considered one of the most diverse and flexible beauty careers. People go to massage therapists for a variety of reasons: to enjoy some time for themselves, to relax, or to work out muscle aches and soreness.

    Because of this, massage therapists must meet a range of needs and tailor their skills to each customer. If you’re ready to put your hands to work in a new beauty career, learn more about massage therapy schools in Mississippi.

    Examples Of Msbmt In A Sentence

    Untitled Page

    The content includes the Mississippi Professional Massage Therapy Act § 73-67 and its relevant MSBMT Rules and Regulations.

    Individuals who will teach only CPR and First Aid are not required to be a MSBMT licensed instructor as long as their credentials are on file at the school.

    For paper applications, fees shall be paid in full by a cashiers check or money order made payable to MSBMT .

    The completed application must be returned to the Board along with a non-refundable application fee of Five Hundred Dollars payable to MSBMT .

    These evaluations will be to determine if the school is complying with the Mississippi Professional Massage Therapy Act and MSBMT Regulations.

    Notification by the MSBMT office that the license of an LMT has been suspended or revoked.

    To ascertain whether or not the establishment is in compliance with MSBMT including but not limited to equipment and sanitation requirements.

    Students MUST select Mississippi as the Official Score Report section for automatic reporting to MSBMT.

    Such changes must be done prior to online renewal by providing MSBMT a copy of the legal document verifying the name change.

    Instructor and School Qualifications Rule 9.1 Instructor QualificationsAny person involved in the instruction of students must be licensed by the Board as an Instructor in all Mississippi Board approved schools of massage therapy, during any part of the 700 hours required by MSBMT.

    Don’t Miss: Custom Massage Therapy Hickory Nc

    How Do I Transfer My Massage License To Georgia

    Keep in mind that if you have formerly passed one of the above-mentioned exams, you do not need to retake it. Simply contact your organization and have your score sent directly to the Georgia Board. If your massage therapy license is gained in another state, contact the state agency, and have the original verification of the licensure sent to the Georgia Board. The state agency can email or fax the verification directly to the Board. The States seal must be on the document. Dont forget to ask your state agency for applicable fees and processing time.

    How Do I Become A Licensed Therapist In Georgia

    Besides 500 hours of the educational course, the Board requires successful completion of an approved entry-level exam. The Board accepts a passing score from any one of the following exams:

    • National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork Exams
    • National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage
    • National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
    • National Examination for State Licensure

    Also Check: Massage Magazine Insurance Plus Continuing Education

    The State Of Mississippi Massage Therapist Requirements

    Throughout the 48,434 square miles of the Magnolia State, approximately 723 massage therapists work to help the more than 2.9 million people in their state find relief from pain, rehabilitation from injuries, and comfort in the midst of stress and anxiety.

    With 166,383 people in Jackson, 67,793 people in West Gulfport, and 71,676 people in Gulfport, massage therapists who work in Mississippi can find an engaged environment to open, continue, or join a massage therapy business.

    Mississippi Massage Therapy Careers

    Healthy Living South Mississippi – Rejuvenation Station

    Average yearly salary for massage therapy in Mississippi

    With a degree in massage therapy, you may be able to benefit from a positive job outlook in Mississippi. A 10% increase in job openings is expected between 2012 and 2022 . Massage therapists may put their abilities to work in a variety of settings, from massage parlors and salons to spas and their own businesses. You may earn a range of salaries, depending on how much experience you have, the variety of massage techniques you know, and what setting you work in. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the average salary for a Mississippi massage therapist is $31,980 per year . On top of their regular base salaries, massage professionals often earn sizable tips for massages, particularly in spa settings.

    Read Also: Best Place To Get A Massage In Las Vegas

    How Do I Become A Massage Therapist In Mississippi

    If youre ready to move into your career as a massage therapist in Mississippi, you must register with the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy. The registration fee is $250. Once you are registered, you must receive licensure by the Board. If you do not register, you will be working illegally and can receive a fine.

    In order to receive this license, you must complete a minimum of 700 hours from an approved massage therapy program and proof that you have passed a national massage licensing examination.

    You can find application request forms on their website.

    Popular Articles
    Related news