Tuesday, April 16, 2024

How To Get A Massage Therapy License In Ga

How To Reinstate Or Reactivate Your Expired Massage License

How To Become a Licensed Massage Therapist/ Schooling, Licensure and Continuing Education

How to Reinstate or Reactivate Your Expired Massage License, the easiest way to keep your massage license active is to not let it expire in the first place.

For massage license holders, you must take the necessary continuing education each year and submit the evidence to the board in your state to maintain your license.

Each state has a different requirement in terms of the number of continuing education credits you need each year.

That said, it is simply not reasonable for many non-practising massage therapists to continue to keep their license active, but thats ok.

In a nutshell, you take the continuing education courses you need.

You pay a renewal fee, provide evidence of continuing education and you are back in business.

There may be slight nuances from one state board to another.

But the requirements and procedures are generally the same across the country.

The number of continuing education credits you need is listed on the state boards website.

In most cases, you will NOT have to retake the massage certification exam in your state, unless a significant amount of time has passed since your massage license was last active.

What Is A License For A Massage Therapist

A license for a massage therapist is a state-issued license that allows processionals to practice massage therapy on patients. Massage therapists complete this prior to beginning their careers. A massage therapist license consists of an approved licensing exam that tests individuals on the following topics:

  • Massage therapy ethics

Can A Felon Get A Massage Therapist License In Florida

If you were convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony offense under any provision of state law listed here, or a similar provision in another jurisdiction, the Florida Department of Health will issue an emergency order suspending your massage

Do you need a license to do massages in Georgia?

To practice massage therapy in the state of Georgia, you need a Georgia Massage Therapy License. All applicants for a massage therapy license in Georgia must have completed an approved massage course or educational program of at least 500 hours of clinical massage training.

What states dont require massage license?

Wyoming, Vermont, Minnesota, or Kansas are states that do not require a massage license. While these are the only states where you can be a massage therapist without out license, there may be additional requirements.

Recommended Reading: Massage Therapy School Tuition Cost

Where Can I Study

The Georgia Board of Massage Therapy provides a list of approved schools where future LMTs can complete their 500 required hours.

Below are two approved schools in Georgia to help you get started on what you may be looking for in a massage therapy education.

  • Atlanta School of Massage: With a belief that self-discovery and personal growth are essential components of the student experience, Atlanta School of Massage teaches students with a holistic approach, blending both art and science in its massage therapy training. The school is a member of the ASM Wellness family of teaching programs, and provides a variety of massage therapy services to the public.
  • Georgia Massage School: This 500-hour massage training curriculum is divided into the categories outlined by the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy. The classes are half-day to add convenience to students busy schedules. The school has a comfortable atmosphere and two National Teacher of the Year award-winning instructors.

How Do I Become A Massage Therapist In Georgia

How to Get a Massage Therapy License in the State of Alabama

If youre ready to move into your career as a massage therapist in Georgia, you must register with the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy. The registration fee is $125. Once you are registered, you must receive licensure by the Board. If you do not register, you will be working illegally and can receive a fine. You must also have massage insurance to practice in the state of Georgia.

In order to receive this license, you must complete a minimum of 500 hours from an approved massage therapy program by the Board and be certified by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.

You can find application request forms on their website.

Read Also: 90 Minute Hot Stone Massage

Southern Regional Technical College

3884

This public community college serves a seven-county area in southwest Georgia. The Neuromuscular Massage Therapist program is in a beautiful, modern facility on Veterans Parkway at the campus in Moultrie.

Incoming students must have certain minimum ACT or SAT scores, and pass placement tests in Reading, English, Writing, and Arithmetic. The program entails at least 59 semester hours in five semesters. In addition to the state-required coursework, there are classes in Interpersonal Relationships and Professional Development, and Student Success.

All of the programs graduates have passed the licensure exam in recent years.

  • 15689 US Hwy 19 North, Thomasville, Georgia 31792
  • http://southernregional.edu

Zero Balancing Certification Program

The Zero Balancing Certification Program gives students experience working with body structure and energy through touch. It helps students deepen their skills and gain access to mentorship and community. To become a certified zero balancer , complete 100 course hours. This may include one-on-one touch feedback and other activities.

Also Check: Massage And Facial Package Nyc

Certification Exam For Structural Integration

The Certification Exam for Structural Integration is a program that works to maintain the ethical standards of practice for practitioners in structural integration. Structural integration is a type of bodywork that focuses on fascia, or the connected tissue of the body. This type of manual therapy relieves individuals of pain and provides them with comfort. The Certification Board for Structural Integration offers this program and an exam for massage therapists to take.

Related:How Long Does It Take To Become a Massage Therapist?

Minimum Education Requirements For Massage Therapy Programs In Georgia

Georgia Board of Massage upholds hands-on training requirements: why therapists are worried

To become a massage therapist in Georgia, a student is required to complete a school program that provides 500 or more clock hours of coursework and training. The state board stipulates that schools be recognized by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, as well as the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission.

Curricula must include at least 440 hours of instruction, plus 50-60 hours of supervised clinical experience. The board mandates 125 hours of anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology courses 200 hours of theory, technique, and practice 40 hours of pathology 10 hours of ethics and business management and six hours of ethics.

The remaining 125 or more hours pertain to other subjects. Students must learn effleurage or gliding, tapotement or percussion, petrissage or kneading, stretching, superficial warming, contraindications, modesty and draping, client data collection, and therapeutic relationships.

Upon graduation, the next step is to register online with the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork to take the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination . Once approved, a candidate contacts Pearson VUE to schedule the exam at a testing center in Atlanta, Albany, Augusta, Dunwoody, Griffin, Macon, Marietta, Savannah, or Stockbridge.

Recommended Reading: In Home Massage Richmond Va

What Is The Highest Paying Job With A Certificate

10 High-Paying Jobs that Require a Certificate

  • Web Developer.
  • Heavy Vehicle and Mobile Equipment Mechanic.
  • Sheet Metal Worker.
  • Can a masseuse feel tension?

    Massage therapists are trained to feel where knots occur by looking for tension in the back, neck and shoulders. They find this tension and release it by applying deep compression with their thumb, fingers or elbow, and holding for 20-30 seconds.

    Do you have to be certified to do Reiki?

    No special background or credentials are needed to receive training. One of the hallmarks of Reiki practice is its simplicity: it can be learned in about ten hours of in-person training, generally offered in group class formats, and doesnt require knowledge of either subtle bioenergy or healthcare.

    How long does it take to become a Reiki practitioner?

    Practitioners may complete Reiki training programs that last anywhere from two days to a few weeks to years, depending on the level of certification desired. There is no governing body that determines the various levels, but most Reiki schools or organizations have a beginning, intermediate and Reiki master level.

    Complete The Background Check

    A background check is required for licensure. See the Application/Form Download section of the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy website for Fingerprint COGENT-GAPS Instructions.

    Notes about Fingerprints

    The fingerprints and processing must be completed at a Georgia COGENTS/GAPS location. This is important for applicants that are not currently located/living in Georgia.

    The Board does not process fingerprint cards, so do not mail them to the Board office.

    Also Check: Massage Continuing Education Raleigh Nc

    How To Become A Masseuse In Georgia

    • 500 education hours are required to become licensed.
    • You must renew your license every 2 years.
    • 24 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
    • The average salary for massage therapists in Georgia is $24,460 . This is higher than the national average of $42,820 .
    • There is a predicted 28% job increase between 20162026 for massage therapists. This is higher than the expected national growth of 22%.

    As one of the fastest-growing professions in the United States, massage therapists are going to be in high demand over the next decade. To meet the growing demand, there has are many massage schools in Georgia that are training people just like you everyday. If you are searching for a profession where you can help people achieve health and wellness, massage therapy may a great fit for you.

    At Georgia massage schools, you can learn how to ease pain and promote relaxation for a multitude of people. As the Empire State of the South, GA is a hotspot of the southern region, with the center being the culture and diversity of Atlanta.

    What Are The Licensing Requirements For A Massage Therapist

    Devon Lockwood Providing Geopathic Stress Removal, Massage Therapy and Yoga

    Most states require individuals to have a license to practice massage therapy. This ensures clients that the massage therapist has met specific requirements as posted by the state regulatory board. The requirements for massage therapist licensing vary by state. To find your state’s requirements, go to the American Massage Therapy Association website. Typically, these professionals must complete between 500 and 1,000 hours of training from a board-approved massage school. Other states may require additional training, such as becoming CPR certified or taking a first aid class. Upon completing education, prospective massage therapists take their state’s exam to get licensed.

    Don’t Miss: Hand And Stone Massage Rochester

    Wiregrass Georgia Technical College

    3936

    This school has an 11-county service area in south-central Georgia. Its neuromuscular therapy program is on the main campus in Valdosta.

    Students learn Swedish massage, identification of diseases and conditions, medical documentation, and client care. There is specialized training in nervous system pathology, postural analysis, muscle energy techniques, myofascial release, and clinical reasoning.

    In addition to the usual core courses, students must take English I, Foundations of Mathematics, Basic Psychology, Neural Science, and Professional Leadership. The program includes two clinical experiences.

    • 4089 Val Tech Rd, Valdosta, Georgia 31602-0929
    • http://www.wiregrass.edu

    Can You Be A Psychologist With A Felony In Florida

    Can I get a clinical psychologist license? ANSWER: Possibly. Applicants with a forcible felony conviction must meet all license application requirements and qualify under the law for review of a forcible felony conviction.

    How long does it take to become a licensed massage therapist in Georgia?

    500 hoursTo receive a massage therapist licensed in Georgia, 500 hours of clinical massage training is required. Students must pass the National Certification Exam for Massage Therapy and Bodywork NCETMB/NCETM or the MBLEx to receive their license.

    How long does it take to become a certified massage therapist?

    This means completing an accredited massage therapy program and then passing a nationally-recognized exam. Programs range from 300 to 1,000 hours of in-class instruction and practical training. This can translate to somewhere between a few weeks and two years depending on the structure of the program you enroll in.

    Also Check: American Institute Of Massage Therapy

    How To Get A Georgia Massage License

    Are you moving to Georgia, plan to work in Georgia while living in another state, or a Georgia resident just finishing up massage school?

    Simply having an active massage license in another state, a current NCBTMB certification, or a 500 hour transcript is not enough to legally practice massage in Georgia. You will need to obtain a Georgia massage license.

    Stone Massage Therapist Certification

    Lymphatic Drainage Massage | Licensed Therapist | Q& A The Remarkable Touch | Georgia Atlanta Area

    Massage therapists may earn the Stone Massage Therapist certification to specialize in hot stone therapy. This program teaches the benefits and contraindications, care and usage of materials and basic protocols. Students learn about the effects of hot and cold stones on the body. Upon completion of their training, they take a multiple-choice exam and receive a certification if they pass.

    Read Also: Does Masshealth Cover Massage Therapy

    Our Massage Therapy Ce Courses Approved For Georgia

    Georgia requires that a massage therapist must complete 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years by October 31st of even numbered years for license renewal. At least 12 hours must be hands on. Proof of completion of CE courses must be submitted to CE Broker, Inc prior to renewal and must include the NCBTMB Approved Provider number.

    You may take up to 12 hours of continuing education online here at Adawehi Institute.

    For Additional Information

    If you have questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements, we suggest contacting the Georgia Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Georgia Board is 478-207-2440 or visit their website

    Disclaimer: Please note that we provide this information as a courtesy, but do not guarantee its accuracy because laws are continually subject to change. Your State Board will hold you ultimately responsible for knowing the laws that apply to you. Please contact your State Board with any questions about your license.

    How Do I Verify A Massage Therapist License In Georgia

    The final essential step after getting a massage therapist license is to have it verified in the state of Georgia. To do this you need to collect all the educational documentation to send it to the Georgia Board that takes responsibility for the verification fulfillment. They must certify translations proving the course completion by the applicant including his/her name and contact number. In addition, the credential evaluation report must be approved and include the verification of the educational transcript. The letter is to show the massage therapy education being licensed, recognized or verified by a government or country. You will also need to have your exams passage verified.

    In the end, your full educational path, where you have satisfied all the requirements to become a licensed massage therapist will play a significant role in your job career.

    Also Check: Ultimate Thai Massage Hall Road

    How Much Does It Cost To Get A Georgia University Georgia Massage Establishment/therapist License

    The cost of a Georgia University, Georgia Massage Establishment/Therapist License is unique for the specific needs of each business. The cost of a Georgia University, Georgia Massage Establishment/Therapist License depends on a company’s industry, geographic service regions and possibly other factors.

    At LicenseSuite, we offer affordable Georgia University, Georgia massage establishment/therapist license compliance solutions that include a comprehensive overview of your licensing requirements. This empowers you to discover accurate costs for your Georgia University, Georgia massage establishment/therapist license.

    For our massage establishment/therapist license compliance solutions, enter your city, state and industry at LicenseSuite and click ‘Get Your Licenses.’

    Advantages Of Our Massage Therapy Program

    Heaven Sent Massage of Ellijay

    The massage therapy program at the International School of Skin, Nailcare and Massage Therapy delivers many distinct benefits compared to other similar beauty schools in the Atlanta, GA, area. Some advantages of furthering your education with our programs include:

    • State-of-the-art amenities: Our facility includes 17,000 square feet of training space and features top-of-the-line equipment for guiding more effective learning.
    • Financial aid opportunities: Students who qualify for financial aid can take advantage of our excellent options to help cover the cost of their education.
    • World-class instructors: Respected and enthusiastic educators teach classes for all programs. Our team consists of professionals with real-world experience.
    • Multiple programs: Besides the massage therapy program, students also may enroll in the nailcare, skincare, cosmetology, and instructor programs to pursue different career paths.

    Students can rest assured our beauty school delivers outstanding education, as evidenced by our accreditations and approvals from the following organizations:

    • Commission of the Council on Occupational Education, Atlanta, GA
    • Georgia Secretary of State Boards of Cosmetology and Barbers and Massage Therapy
    • Georgia Non-Public Postsecondary Education Commission
    • National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork

    Read Also: Best Massage In Fort Myers Fl

    Georgia Board Of Massage Therapy

    The state Legislature created this regulatory agency in 2005 as part of the secretary of states office to protect the public from unqualified practitioners.

    The board establishes education, training, and experience standards for massage therapists. It reviews license applications to ensure that those seeking to practice in the state are eligible, and also issues licenses to massage therapy businesses.

    The officials ensure that practitioners renew their licenses and receive continuing education. They investigate complaints concerning alleged violations of laws and regulations. Disciplinary actions include fines as well as license suspensions and revocations.

    The governor appoints all five board members. Four of them must have been professionally engaged in massage therapy in the state for at least three years. No more than one member may be a massage school owner. The fifth member represents the public.

    How Can I Apply For A Georgia University Georgia Massage Establishment/therapist License

    Applying for a Georgia University, Georgia Massage Establishment/Therapist License usually requires completing a large list of forms and confusing documentation. It will also involve different steps along the way, depending on the specifics of your business.

    LicenseSuite provides you with everything you need to answer the question ‘How can I apply for a Georgia University, Georgia Massage Establishment/Therapist License?’ That’s because LicenseSuite makes it fast and easy to get all of your requirements, so you know exactly what steps need to be finished to apply for a Georgia University, Georgia Massage Establishment/Therapist License.

    To discover how you can apply for a Georgia University, Georgia Massage Establishment/Therapist License…

    Don’t Miss: Frankincense And Myrrh Massage Oil

    Popular Articles
    Related news