Who Does Not Have To Be Licensed Under The Massage Therapy Law
Review the statutes for the definition of a massage therapist. If you meet the definition you must be licensed. Make sure you read all of the statute for who is not required to be licensed before you assume youre exempt. Refer to the following statute for individuals who are exempt. 32-4221. Licensure persons and activities not required to be licensed
Which States Dont Require A Massage Therapy License
You can practice massage therapy without a license or certification in:
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Technique that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, and Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage and bodywork Modalities/Culture/History
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
You cannot take the test until you can prove that you have completed training in all areas of the MBLEx outline. You may bypass that requirement if you can show that you graduated from an approved massage therapy school or program.
During the test, youâll have 2 hours to complete as many questions as you can. The results are graded as pass/fail.
How Do I Become A Massage Therapist In California
If youre ready to move into your career as a massage therapist in California, you must register with the California Massage Therapy Council. The registration fee is $200. Once you are registered, you must receive licensure by the Board. If you do not register, you will need to get a permit from each of the cities in which you practice massage.
In order to receive this license, you must complete a minimum of 500 hours from an accredited massage therapy school and be certified by the Board.
You can find application request forms on their website.
Massage Therapist Education Requirements
Massage therapists must complete Board-recognized massage therapy programs of at least 550 hours. Programs are recognized if they are approved by the Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education or are housed in public colleges in any state. Other programs may be recognized at Board discretion.
The Nevada Board has provided a list of programs around the nation that do not meet requirements and are not approved. Programs may appear on the list because they were denied codes by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork , because they were not in good standing with their regulatory agencies, or because the Nevada Board carried out its own investigation and found them to be lacking.
Out-of-state applicants cannot guarantee that a nonpublic educational program will be accepted even if it does not appear on the list. An applicant who wants recognition for a program that is not approved by the Commission on Postsecondary Education or offered by a state college will need to provide detailed information about the program.
All approved and non-approved programs can be reviewed on the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy website www.massagetherapy.nv.gov
Applicants with California transcripts may require Board review.
The Board notes that core curriculum cannot be completed through online education.
Massage Education Requirements In California
Applicants for massage certification in California are required to complete a minimum of 500 hours of in-class instruction from a CAMTC approved school. 100 hours of the approved program must be in anatomy and physiology, contraindications, health and hygiene, and business and ethics. Applicants who attended a massage school out-of-state must have a received education and training substantially equivalent to CAMTC approved schools. CAMTC does not accept out-of-country education.
You May Like: Walk In Massage Fort Collins
Indiana’s Title Protection Law
Those who would like to claim the title of a massage therapist in the state of Indiana must meet the requirements of “title protection.”
This means that anyone can practice massage without a license in the state, but they aren’t allowed to call themselves a massage therapist without first getting an Indiana state certification.
How Long Does It Take To Become A Counselor In California
If you are starting from scratch, the biggest factors influencing how long it takes to become a counselor in California will be your education and experience. You will have to complete a masters or another doctorate program that includes at least six practicum or field study units. This typically takes several years. Following this, you have to gain 3,000 hours of supervised experience spread out over at least two years.
From your undergraduate degree to your doctorate, you may spend as long as 10 years to become a licensed counselor. It can take less time than this, especially if you already have an undergraduate degree or relevant doctorate when you decide to become a counselor. But you cannot take any shortcuts with the practical experience requirements.
When confirming a therapist license, ensure that you are using the proper lookup as there are several other roles with therapist in the name that have their own lookups. For example, you will not find a physical therapist license California holder or an LPCC in a California massage license lookup.
Don’t Miss: How To Write A Resume For Massage Therapist
What Is The Difference Between A Massage Practitioner And A Massage Therapist
Massage practitioners usually must go through the same licensure process as massage therapists unless specific exemptions apply. The difference is that practitioners complete fewer training hours than therapists and usually do not have the same continuing education requirements.
Terms can be used interchangeably in the massage world sometimes. Technically, therapists can use the term âpractitionerâ to describe themselves, but practitioners cannot give themselves the title of “therapist” in their business, as they have not achieved the level of training to qualify them as either a certified massage therapist or a licensed massage therapist .
How To Become A Licensed Massage Therapist In California
Massage therapists specialize in the Anatomy, Physiology, and Pathology of the body as it relates to soft tissue injury, treatment and prevention. They use a variety of different techniques or modalities to ease muscular tension and stress, relieve pain from injuries and accelerate healing from certain chronic and acute conditions. Here is some helpful information on how to become a certified Massage Therapist in California.
Recommended Reading: Can Massage Help Si Joint Pain
A20 Grant Or Denial Of Permit
The city manager or designee shall review the application, investigation reports and recommendations and shall deny the permit if he finds any of the following to be true:
That any of the information on the application has been deliberately falsified, or contains any false, misleading or fraudulent statement of material fact.
That the premises and the conduct of activities thereon is inimical to the public health, safety, morals, or general welfare.
That the applicant has been convicted of the violation of any of the offenses involving fraud, embezzlement or moral turpitude.
The massage establishment would not comply with the requirements of this chapter or other applicable law, rule or regulation, including, but not limited to any local or state building, fire, zoning, and health regulations.
The applicant has been the subject of a permanent injunction against the conducting or maintaining of a nuisance pursuant to sections 11225 through 11235 of the California Penal Code, or any similar law in any state or other jurisdiction.
The applicant has had suspended, revoked, withdrawn or denied any license, certificate or permit to practice massage therapy, or to own and/or operate a massage establishment.
The owner is currently required to register pursuant to the Sex Offender Registration Act , or any similar law in any state or other jurisdiction.
One: Choosing A School
In the state of California, massage therapists must complete training at a massage school. Finding the appropriate school for training depends on which discipline of massage therapy you are most interested in. The field of massage therapy offers 80 different disciplines, including Swedish massage, traditional European massage and contemporary Western massage, as well as Oriental massage including Shiatsu and Acupressure. Students of massage therapy can also choose to specialize in hydrotherapy, reflexology, deep tissue, sports massage, warm stone massage or become an independent contractor. There are currently over 1,500 massage therapy schools, colleges and post secondary schools throughout the United States that offer training. According to the American Massage Therapy Association , the number of massage therapists and the schools offering professional training, certification and/or licensing in massage therapy, will continue to rise dramatically over the next few years.
Read Also: Massage Places That Take Insurance
A10 Inspections Communication Devices Which Interfere With Inspections
Every person, association, or corporation operating a massage establishment shall permit those officials charged with the enforcement of the provisions of this chapter to make inspections from time to time to determine that the provisions of this chapter are continually being met.
No permittee shall allow communication devices to be installed or used in any manner on the premises so as to interfere with or hinder inspections by law enforcement officials.
How Do I Become A Licensed Therapist In California
Becoming a licensed therapist in California requires you to meet educational and experience requirements, pass a background check, and pass exams.
To start, you need to have a Masters degree or another doctoral degree in psychotherapy or counseling. From there, you need to register as an APCC, which lets you accumulate supervised experience. You will then have to complete the live scan and background check. After passing the California Law & Ethics Exam, you can work on experience. You need at least 3,000 supervised hours spread over at least 104 weeks.
At this point, you can apply for your licensure and be assigned a date to take the NCMHCE , which is the clinical exam. After passing the exam, you will get your California therapist license.
Keep in mind that if you want a California marriage and family therapist license, you will need to meet additional requirements, including 500 hours of supervised experience being with families, couples, and/or children.
You will also have to pay for licensure fees, including for the exam eligibility application, the exam, and the license.
Don’t Miss: Portable Hot Stone Massage Kit
Details On Californias Cbd Laws
Until 2018, Californias definition of CBD as a marijuana product made this substance only legally available from state-sanctioned medical marijuana dispensaries. While CBD laws in California werent strictly enforced, residents of this state who use cannabidiol had some basis to be concerned about the legality of this hemp-based substance.
Variations In Minimum Educational Hours
Most states require completion of a minimum of 500 hours of training. A few states require 600, 750, or 1,000 hours. So, what happens when a massage therapist in Texas, where the requirement is 500 hours, moves to Arizona, which requires 700 hours? It is hard to say. Every state is different.Florida, for example, makes no exceptions for training hours. An applicant must complete 500 hours of training, regardless of experience.If you do not meet the minimum hours of training for the state in which you wish to obtain a license, contact that states board office to see whether they accept applications for a variance.
Also Check: Fastest Way To Get Massage License
What Kind Of Permit Do I Need
CAMTC Massage Therapist License from the California Massage Therapy Council is required to work as a massage practitioner in the city and county of San Francisco.
In addition, you will need one of three types of permits issued by SFDPH:
1. An : If you want to operate from a single fixed place of business and more than one individual will administer massage for compensation
2. A if you are a licensed Massage Practitioner and you want to provide massage for compensation from a single fixed place of business, and you are the only one who will be operating out of that fixed location.
3. An if you do not operate out of a fixed place, and you provide massage for compensation at a location designated by the client
A7 Display Of List Of Services And Charges
Every holder of a permit for a massage establishment shall cause to be displayed in a conspicuous place, readily seen by persons entering the premises, a list of services and the cost of such services provided by the establishment. Any services rendered, which are not so listed, may be grounds for revocation or suspension of the massage establishment permit.
Also Check: Massage Envy West Bloomfield Mi
Obtaining A Los Angeles City Massage Therapist License
Obtain massage therapist information packet and all forms. You will need to go to Los Angeles City Hall downtown or a local Los Angeles City Finance Office to pick them up.
Bring completed forms to the Office of Finance, where you will be fingerprinted and you also must submit three passport-size photos.
Pay associated fees at the Office of Finance location. Currently the original fees for the two massage therapist licenses are $522 and the annual police permit is $131. There is a change of location fee of $361, if applicable. The current original fee for the massage therapist business–off premises is $478 and the annual police permit is $100. The change-of-location fee for that license, if applicable, is $478.
Take the written multiple-choice exam and the practical exam on the date that will be assigned to you by the Office of Finance. Bring a friend for the practical skills part of the exam. After you pass the tests, a background check will be conducted, and you will receive your license and permits in the mail.
Make sure you are getting the appropriate license for where you want to work. Los Angeles County has about 88 cities in it, many with licensing requirements of their own. To avoid delays in your application, make sure the address on the license forms matches the address on file with the California DMV. Make sure to comply with current license-renewal regulations and continuing-education requirements.
The State Of California Massage Therapist Requirements
Throughout the 163,696 square miles of The Golden State, approximately 52,931 massage therapists work to help the more than 39.5 million people in their state find relief from pain, rehabilitation from injuries, and comfort in the midst of stress and anxiety.
With 3,928,864 people in Los Angeles, 1,381,069 people in San Diego, and 1,021,795 people in San Jose, massage therapists who work in California can find an engaged environment to open, continue, or join a massage therapy business.
Read Also: Massage Places In Norfolk Va
California Massage License Guidelines
California has a voluntary certification that is granted by the California Massage Therapy Council. It requires 250 hours for a CMP , with 100 hours in physiology and anatomy, health and hygiene, contraindications, and business and ethics, from approved schools. For the title of CMT , California requires 500 or more hours, with 250 from approved schools and the remainder from either approved schools or continuing education providers.
California State Licensing Requirements for Massage Practitioners
No state-wide licensing requirements exist in California however, each local jurisdiction within the state may have different massage permit requirements or business license requirements.
Liability Insurance Requirements
While no state-wide mandates are currently in place, securing insurance protection is a sound business decision and may be required to work in certain locations by landlords, employers, or local jurisdictions.
As a professional bodyworker, liability insurance coverage is vital to your business. Whether you are working as an employee or as an independent contractor, part time or full time, or even if you work from home, you still encounter risks on a daily basis when you deal with the general public.
While there are many benefits of obtaining massage therapy insurance, a few significant points are listed below:
Where Can I Study
The California Massage Therapy Council provides information on CMTC school approval to help future LMTs choose the right school to complete their 500 required hours.
To help you get started, below are a couple of popular schools for massage therapy in California.
- National Holistic Institute: Living their mission statement to help people have work they love, this school takes time to get to know each student so they can better understand how to help them through their journey as a professional massage therapist. As a respected and nationally accredited massage therapy school, students will receive hands-on experience and quality feedback from clients.
- Alhambra Medical University: Believing in working together to better community, the world, and themselves, this school provides rigorous training for students. Because of the high demand for those skilled in Asian Body Work therapy, students will be provided with job opportunities for licensed massage and bodywork practitioners.
You May Like: Osaki Os Pro Massage Chair
I Am Looking To Move To Arizona Within The Next Four To Five Months And I Am Licensed In Another State What Steps Do I Need To Take To Have My License Transferred From The State I Am In
An applicant is eligible for reciprocal licensure if either of the following applies:
Massage Education And Exam Requirements
In all other states, massage therapists are required to get a license in the state where they’ll practice. Licensure requirements differ from one state to the next, but typically include 500 to 650 hours of massage education. Failure to do so means a massage therapist could face penalties associated with practicing massage without a license
Passing the Massage & Bodywork Licensing Exam is another common requirement. Here are the components of this standard test:
- 12%: Anatomy and Physiology
Don’t Miss: How Much Is A Soothe Massage